An inpromptu firepit build

in #homesteading6 years ago

Last night as the sun was going down we were sitting outside enjoying the evening and my oldest boy J asked me if we could do marshmallows. Normally we will roast a couple after I have grilled since I only use charcoal, but last night I had not been using the grill so needed to come up with some fire. I have a pile of bricks that are in the yard awaiting my building of the brick oven and I decided they would do well for a quicky fire pit.

IMG_20180506_195457127.jpg

With J helping me we stacked up the bricks in a few minutes and had a small stack of debris, wood, and cardboard burning not long after.

The function of the fire pit works extremely well. With the bricks stacked in such a fashion it allows air movement between them which helps to feed the fire. Even though it is not a giant pit it is just about the perfect size for an evening fire, one that will be burned out by morning and safe for the boys to be playing around. I may need to put a cover on it though so the youngest isn't in the ashes using them as war paint.

IMG_20180506_195443899.jpg

It's nice to be able to recycle the bricks into something new. These bricks were originally from a driveway and pillars of a home in Spokane that had new landscaping done, so they were dumped at main yard to be buried, but I got them out before they could be lost. It took 2 big loads in my truck to get them all home and they have sat around now for about 6 or 7 years awaiting my eventual usage.

Check out my blog @flemingfarm

AND/OR

See me on SOLA & signup with this link https://sola.ai/r/ZDVIZG

For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, resteeming, & following!

Sort:  

Needs more lighter fluid ;)

That's what my boy was saying. Kinda unnerving how much of a fire bug he is.... like his parents.

This is really an amazing improvisation brother, we needed to be prepared always for any kind of situation that may come up at any time. # we need to always prepared for unexpected. Thanks for sharing such an amazing experience on here. I find this piece valuable. Keep the good work flowing man

Improvisation is the norm around the farm. I try not to spend a lot of money on things, rather reuse as much as possible.

Beep! Beep! @shadow3scalpel at your service. I am here to assist all military members on Steemit. This HumVee will be scouting posts from a list of Veterans that is maintained by @chairborne. If you are a Veteran and new to Steemit, and you have questions or want to join the Veterans community, reply to this comment. We got your six, unless you are in the rear with the gear. Ooh-Rah!
Comment by @inthenow. This is a opt-in bot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.11
JST 0.034
BTC 66396.53
ETH 3174.43
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.15