Second load of pallets

in #homesteading5 years ago

And now a total of 27!



IMG_20181204_121349686.jpg

27 of these 4ftx12ft pallets in one day! I am super stoked to have been able to get this last load of 15 pallets. Last night after @stryeyz got home from work I took off and headed back down to Spokane Valley in hopes of there still being pallets left. My initial foray produced OUTSTANDING results so I wanted to match or improve on that. It was dark so I brought my headlamp and a magnetic light which both proved perfect. This is what I had to work with last night, the magnetic light was on my tailgate which gave a nice general lighting and then my headlamp spotted everything.

Interestingly these pallets are from a pallet manufacturer and these are what they receive the wood they make pallets out of on. Seems so odd that a pallet manufacturer is getting rid of pallets but I am not questioning a gift like this!

IMG_20181203_181809937.jpg

15 pallets fit on the trailer this time with 3 standing on edge, but it worked just fine despite the slight tongue heaviness. I got home and parked the load and went in to crumple into my chair with a beer. I had loaded and unloaded 12 pallets mid day then I loaded 15 pallets about 6pm, so I was pooped.

These pallets are not as good as the others but they will still work perfect for what we are planning. The second load pallets will be used as the walls and loft/ceiling in a 12x12 shed. The pallets from the first load will be used for the floor. Then I will just need to build a roof and put up sheeting. I have a shit ton of old windows that I can use on one whole wall for ample light.


IMG_20181204_103310971.jpg

The first load is next to the fence but this one I decided to put in my unused garden corner that is still covered in weeds. I put down a bunch of weed barrier under the bottom pallets to help block the weed from growing this next Spring.


IMG_20181204_115958889.jpg

I ended up with:

  • 2 - 4x12 short runner
  • 4 - 5x12 short runner
  • 8 - 4x12 long 4 runner
  • 13 - 4x12 long 3 runner

This gives me 324 lineal feet end to end with the pallets which if I wanted to would give me a circle approximately 20 feet across if I made them into a big ring. Not their intended purpose though.


IMG_20181204_130323704.jpg

One hell of a good score! Plus while scouring Craigslist I found a shop that is only a 1/4 mile from the brewery that I pick up my grain at which has empty pallets by their dumpster at the end of every week. This gives me a quick and easy spot to pop by to maybe grab a couple regular sized pallets every week as well as the grain. One can never have to many quality pallets... really, they are just too damned useful.

BTS = jwf

Token = FFFARM

Check out my:

Whaleshares blog | Steemit blog | Scorum blog


For more information about our farm:
Fleming Family Farm
FLEMING FAMILY FARM, LLC
Sustainable & Organic Methods | Heirloom Produce
All images are original works of Fleming Family Farm unless otherwise notated and credited.

Feel free to join our Discord server to find out more about our BTS token FFFarm.

If you find this post useful or entertaining, your support is greatly appreciated by upvoting, following, and sharing!




Learn how to join the Byteball WCG Distribution!


FFF Runic.png


Sort:  

Thats hilarious 😂, a pallet manufacturer getting rid of pallets. Those look nice. Be cool if i could get some like those. Possibly build 60ft, 8ft high fence. Nice haul.

Wow, those are some huge pallets! Score!

Well, I dream of a gift, haha. Who could get rid of something like that?
That's fine, I hope to see your project finished

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63960.62
ETH 3142.95
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95