Continuing The Fence Row Clean Up And MoresteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

20170927_133916.jpg
Friends. As you know if you have been following me in my work. I have been busy trying to give the little hickory trees some growing room. And I have been getting a lot finished so the little trees could have more sunlight and growing room.
(Look at all the cedar trees growing n the photo above.) Taking some of them out of a fence row will not stop them from trying to grow everywhere.

I happen to be fond of hickory trees and walnut trees. I will do what I can to help them grow. See the tree I have been trimming in the photo below.
20170927_144240.jpg
That is so the little hickories can grow. Plus I can put a new fence there too.

It was hot today. My wife said I needed some good water. She gave this to me to drink while I was working in the hot weather. It was good.
20170927_144614.jpg
I guess she wants to take care of me. I am old. If I go away. What would she have? Another man? Ha

I finally finished taking the tree limbs off the tree. It took some time to finish. I was the only one working.
20170927_151657.jpg

The "iron horse" pulled the log down to the other two. Now I have three. Later I added another little one.
20170927_155149.jpg

You can see the three logs.
20170927_160955.jpg

And then I looked. Ugh. I couldn't stand it any more. The cedar is crowding one of the walnut trees by the barn and I don't think it had any walnuts on it. It was concentrating on staying alive in the cramped space.
20170927_161110.jpg
One or two of the lower branches were dead. I pulled them off.

I didn't really want to do that. But it had to be done.
20170927_165741.jpg
Now the walnut tree has room to grow. The cedar will be utilized. I don't want to waste any of it.

I begin clearing the limbs from the cedar tree. You can see the tree on the ground and the walnut left standing.
20170927_175508.jpg

I looked over at a clump of (4) walnut trees. One had to leave. Too small and only one walnut growing on it.
They were to clumped up and crowded anyway.
20170927_170422.jpg

A Praying Mantis was watching me as I worked. He was a little nervous I think. Ha
20170927_170626.jpg

Nearly finished with the tree. I had to leave. It was getting late. I had a lot more to show to you.
20170927_175141.jpg

Some walnuts on one of the little trees. I was so glad to see that on a little tree. That is a good sign for the coming years.
20170927_175921.jpg

Before we go. Let's take one last look at the first work area. The little hickory trees are beginning to look happy already. lol
But, we still need to do more work to finish the project. It would be nice to put some fence there too.
20170927_161707.jpg

Friends. That is some of what I accomplished today.
The green "iron horse" has the parts now needed to get him back into action
When that is done. I will leave the tree trimming for a while. Some more field work needs to be done.

I hope you have enjoyed looking at my day of clearing out the fence row and working around the walnut trees.
Please don' worry about the cedar trees. I have a grove of them growing on the land. I will show that to you sometime.

It was hot today, but I didn't care. When you are interested in doing something that needs to be done.
Time or other factors doesn't mean as much. I like to get something done.
Thank you for your support for me and my work. I appreciate it.

Francis

Sort:  

Wow!!! Look at all those fantastic walnuts! Will you be collecting them Francis?
It is incredible how quickly trees can pick themselves right up when all their conditions are meet. Your little hickory trees are a great example of this.
One more thing Francis, you are irreplaceable because you are one of a kind. ;)

@rebeccaryan
Keep talking. I'll give you the rest of my life to quit. Ha
Yes. The trees are tough. They continue to try. Much like you do.
Thank you for visiting and upvoting my post.
Without you. I am not a Steemit fan the way I am today.

Oh, you know where I am. It is Pat's day of the week. Ha

Francis

I'm so glad that you make time for each other. :)
I though that it was very thoughtful and kind of her to bring you cold bottled water on a very hot day. ;)

@rebeccaryan
Well. It is refreshing for young people to think loving things. But we are older.
OK. We are old. lol
Of course she would do that. But, she was busy watching children.
That is what old folks do. At least she does some of the time.
But, she was the one that suggested the good water.
And I took the cooler with me to keep it cool. I had thought about taking two. Ha
But, I just took an extra bottle of regular water. She likes the good water.
She says I have to live. I cannot leave. She said she would be lost.
Love or necessity? Maybe a little of both.
But, she is good woman. I could have been long gone had she not come into my life.

Thank you for your comments though. Love is still alive.

Francis

Job well done!it is another great day for you sir @francisk

GOD BLESS!

@bien
Thank you for helping me to grow with Steemit. Each reply adds value to each of us.
The work that I do is something that I am very familiar with. From childhood till now.
Learning a little along the way though.

Francis

Your welcome my friend..we are one here in community..keep safe always..

Congratulations @francisk, this post is the fifth most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Superuser account holder (accounts that hold between 1 and 10 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Superuser account holders during this period was 873 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $4936.53. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

@bitgeek
Thank you for that information. I am humbled to be in the featured group.
It isn't anything that I have done. It is the work of the Steemit friends.

Francis

Wishing Pat good luck! I have a love hate relationship with your blogs, Francis. I love your writing and pictures but hate that it reminds me of chores and such that I need to get done :( lol

@bluelightbandit
Thank you for the good wishes for Pat. She is a shrewd gambler at times.
Oh, I am not a work horse at all. Too much to do.
Here is a break down of my normal week day.
4-6 hours in the morning of trading and Steemit.
4-6 hours of homesteading or whatever Pat has in mind.
Final hours are market review and Steemit till I drop. Ha
We are not alone. Many of us are running. In our minds at least.
Thank you for your upvote and reply.
That will help me and helps Steemit as well.
I believe that a year or two from now. We will all be very Steemit happy.

Francis

looks like you're getting it under control nice job looking great

@cowboyk
Thank you. My problem is that I don't get to work at it enough. And I don't see that changing anytime soon.
But, we will get something good done over time.

Francis

It appears having a truck saved you and your back!

@brimax
Yes, the red "iron horse" is a monster puller. Ha
The green "iron horse" (tractor) will be repaired in the next few days.
I actually like the truck the best. He is a beast.
Plus he sings to me. (radio) lol
Thank you

Francis

You're welcome

Good job Francis! Life and work in nature are the most beautiful and healthy things. I honestly envy you :)))

@alextuteu
Thank you for your kind comments. We all need encouragement. Steemit will grow and that is what we all want.
Your part in commenting on my post adds a little more to a growing community of Steemit members.
Soon we will be the top place in the world to go to.

Francis

I too enjoy the walnut trees. They are quite beautiful. Straight and sturdy with a nice umbrella . Good work. It makes me feel good after a productive day. 🐓🐓

@mother2chicks
Thank you for your comments. I appreciate that you came to my blog.
On the land. We can have food. I want to chip up the limbs that I have cut off the trees.
I want to try the "back to Eden gardening." I think that would be good.
Lots of chips will be available as you can see. We will find out in a year or two.

Francis

I look after all my fruiting and nut trees as well. Lots of hickory and walnuts here too (I'm in KY). Oh and I found my first pawpaw tree this spring, I was so excited!

@themerrylotus
I am now following you. I am in Southern Ohio.
My wife was born in KY.
Anyone that can. Growing and preserving anything helps with food production.
The world is rapidly filling with people. Food availability could be a problem at some point.
Thank you for what you do. It all helps.

Francis

Thanks for the follow. I believe incorporating a food forest into ones property will one day be a necessity. Until then, it is a wonderful treat.

As a tree lover, don't you feel a little bad about being prejudiced? Thorn trees need love too.

@doctorjohn
We have lots of trees. But, I don't like thorn trees. Ha
Everything has it's place. Crops in the fields. Trees in the forest. Water in the lakes and river.
On the land. I like something that is productive. Whether it be trees for logs later. Or nut trees that produce.
No one wants to feed and care for me if I choose to do nothing. Our fingers and hands have been given to us to do something worthwhile.
Oh, I get a little lazy at times. But, if I am not at least trying do something.
Life could get to be a little boring. lol

Francis

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63924.41
ETH 3120.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88