Filling The Sinkhole With BrushsteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading7 years ago

We have a sinkhole near the property line. It reaches over the line some.
At this point in time. The sinkhole isn't a problem. It could be though.
There are some trees around it that helps to show where it is.
Just as the "old timers" did. My wife suggested I put some of the brush
in and over the sinkhole. That was a good idea. I have lots of brush.
20171020_155904.jpg
We will use "Big Red" to drag the brush up to the sinkhole.
We finished cleaning the limbs off the last log near the barn.

Here is a close up of the sink hole. It has spread out a little over the years.
I want to stop that by filling it in with brush.
20171020_161824.jpg

I decided to pull the brush up to the sinkhole with the truck.
That way I only have to pick up the brush one time.
To put it on the "sinkhole."
I hope to stop the diameter spread of the sinkhole.
20171020_161517.jpg

Here is a photo of the first pile I will put on the sinkhole.
20171020_162008.jpg

I have moved the first brush pile to the sinkhole.
unnamed.jpg

I will pull up another brush pile.
Since the sinkhole is about 12-14 feet wide. There is plenty of room.
20171020_164620.jpg

I finally have the barn brush put on the sinkhole. It isn't done yet. I will put on more later.
unnamed.jpg

I will clear the fence row and put these two piles on too.
Then that should be enough for this year.
20171020_175617.jpg

Here is something that I saw as I was working. That was unusual.
A little deer come up to the area I was working in.
At first it wasn't afraid. Then it decided to leave.
Maybe someone has been feeding it.
20171020_181507.jpg

Time to leave for the day.
Looking back to the sinkhole and brush.
20171020_182431.jpg

When it rains again. I will have another big bonfire.
I will show that to you too. It looks like rain for today.
We will find out soon enough.
20171018_163513.jpg
That is a good sized pile of brush to burn. Watch for my photos of it.

My land is separate from where I am living. I work there too.
I have other plans for my land. It won't be cluttered up and with barbed wire fence.
I don't like barbed wire. I will put good regular fence up on my place.
That is safer for the deer and the horses.

Some of my land in the photo below.
20170825_164111.jpg

Thank you for your time and support as you look at what I have been doing on the land.
Watch for more Steemit posts over the next few days.
And I only post my work on Steemit.

Francis

Sort:  

Theres that iron horse I'm familiar with! We're under a tornado warning here, pretty nasty weather!

@bluelightbandit
Wow. Look at all the replies below. Ha
You are having trouble posting on Steemit too. It has been bad all day.
But, I have confidence in our Witnesses. They will get it straightened out eventually.
Thank you for your upvote and the many replies.

Francis

Wow! That's a hell of a hole! Does it just continue to get bigger over time?

Rebeccaryan
Sinkholes are common in our country where I grew up. The farmers just threw in what ever thy had to stop the widening of the sinkhole. Rocks, bricks, tree limbs. Most of the time it worked as long as some was put in each time it needed it.
The diameter starts to grow when nothing is done to stop the growth.
That is why I am putting a huge pile of tree limbs on it. They will settle down into the hole and hopefully plug it up a little.
We will find out I guess. It isn't unusual. Just a nuisance is all.
Oh, since I am rambling anyway. I heard of a natural pond in Pike County that doesn't have
a bottom. I don't know how true that is. Ha

Francis

So, you just are going to turn it into a huge compostor. LOL!
Do you want some Alien Squash X Pumpkin seeds? I've got lots...Hahaha!
That'll fix the hole.

Rebecca
I remember that. That shows the power of your compostor soil.
If you watched the video I sent you. They were discussing soil without additives.
I would watch that lab. They are on the cutting edge of amazing innovations.

Oh, I am not the planter. Ha
Just walnut trees and hickory trees.
If I was staying around a little longer.
I would order some hickory tree to set out.
It used to be "Stark Bros." I don't know if they are still in
business or not..

Francis

Good job on your post, Francis. (I forgot to congratulate you after I had to post the same comment 3 times...but I'm not counting or bitter.) LOL!

Rebecca
Thank you for your congrats. I need all I can get.
Oh, I am in the middle of a trade. I am using another browser to send this to you.
The other browser is hanging on to the trade. I am not shaking or anything. Ha
Oh, not the "futures." Worse. Coinbase. Ha ha lol ha lol
Just kidding. It should be OK.

Francis

Haha! I'm going to send Francis some Alien Squash Seeds considering he's turning the sink hole into a giant compostor.

Whoa those sinkholes can get huge. I've seen some on the news that can swallow vehicles.Watch out for Big Red.

@countrygalk
Not in this case. Sinkholes are common in our country.
I will try to stop it though.

Francis

Great work!

I've tried filling sinkholes with brush and its been successful about 50% of the time.

No matter what the outcome, it does provide habitat for wildlife.

Keep it up!

@torquewrench1969
Steemit has been tough today to post or reply.
Thank you for your reply and upvote.

Francis

I know what you mean!

Good idea. That's exactly how I would fill them. 🐓🐓

@mother2chicks
That is what my wife thought too. So we are filling it now. Of course we will stack it a lot higher than we need to fill the sinkhole. It isn't all that big now anyway. But, the brush will settle down over the winter months.
Thank you for reply to my post. I appreciate it.

Francis

Francis

deer aren't much afraid of vehicles. sinkholes is a great place to burn brush

@cowboyk
I try every trick I know of to try to get Steemit to work for me.
As long as I refresh and try over and over. It finally works.
But, I am sure that the "Witnesses" are working on it.

Francis

You can say that again, they love vehicles in my neck of the woods!

Less brush to contend with.

@pastorike
That wan't my intent to get rid of the brush. Even though that is true.
I wanted to stop or slow down the spread of the sinkhole if I could.
I had wanted the brush to be chipped later for a "back to eden" garden.

Francis

Upvoted and RESTEEMED :]

Good afternoon, Francis . Your daily work is yielding results and we see it from Your posts. I liked Your last picture. I see a beautiful sky and soft clouds on it. We have today already is the first snow. I wish You a good day!.

@madlenfox
We finally got the rain we were needing to start the bonfire.
If the rain stops enough to start the bonfire.
I will post it. It should be a good one. Ha

Francis

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond.
If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

            To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
            To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87