A Heartfelt Thank You

in #homesteading6 years ago


I've been so touched by all of your support and the only right way to say thank you seemed to be 'in person'.
dtube is not liking me it seems. I've tried 4 times to upload this video and each time it crashes right before it's done.

Anyway, I'm just so touched by the homesteading community on Steemit and all my friends on the platform. Thank you for your support and encouragement.

So here it is, me, @frugallady, on video despite my introverted nature. Hopefully, this is the first of many videos to come! If you have any advice on using dtube, please leave it in the comments :)


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS
Sort:  

Ohhhh we get to see your face!!!

It is GREAT to have you back on steemit!

Yes, finally. I hope you weren't picturing someone completely different. ;)
I'm so shy and reserved but if I want to give my all to Steemit and my business, in general, I have to get over myself and get out there.
I actually really enjoyed doing the raw, unedited video. I can imagine doing many more of that kind. Just a simple one take to get a point across, like if you were right there with me :)

Nice to put a face and voice to the words we read! Well done on your first video and yes I could hear you just fine! May the Lord bless your business and your journey in this life!

Thank you. <3
I still feel very self-conscious speaking English in public, but I've been told by a few native speakers that there's no need, so I'm taking their word for it and trying to shake it off.
Practise makes better so if I can keep it going I might get good at it someday.

Your English is beautiful. You are very easy to understand and have a nice cadence. It sounds like you learned British English more than American English, but here's a little secret: -whispers- we in America have a secret love of British accents and a British/Danish one is very pleasant.

awww - thank you. Yes. You may have noticed it in my insistence on using 'u' in words Americans can't be bothered to as well ;)
I was taught British English but most of what I hear every day is American so it becomes a daft mixture of the two.
I'm glad you find it pleasant. Danes are not exactly known for their mad English skills. Here's what a true Danish accent sounds like...

lol...my family is largely German and English. My great-grandparents spoke American English with essentially German overtones, to the point that when I visited Germany I was shocked to find how many of the small vocal additions and gestures in the language were second nature to me in spite of not be able to speak German properly.

It was also interesting that while in Germany, most people thought my siblings and I were English or Australian, not American. I suspect this is because being schooled at home changed our dialect slightly since we weren't influenced by attending school. We have speech patterns learned from our parents and grandparents rather than our peers.

I find it much easier to understand German, Dutch, Norwegian and Danish accents than, say, French, Indian, Korean or Russian accents.

That's very interesting and probably true that you had a lot of 'germanism' ingrained in you.
When we went to China, everyone thought we were German ;)

Close, but no cigar. -grin-

When my dad went to China, he couldn't read menus and would ask for something in English - the restaurants would come back with one written in German, but my Dad's high school German could stretch far enough that he at least had some idea what he was ordering.

HAHA!

I know basic Mandarin but my husband doesn't so when they asked him if he wanted his coke hot or cold he told me it didn't matter. I could barely stop laughing, as I told him they would heat it if he wanted it warm.

I understood you just fine, just be comfortable and go with what you know!!!

That was excellent! My eyes filled with tears as you said my name. How inspiring! May you be blessed today as you blessed me!

Aww, thank you! You, @ironshield and @lturner are such great inspirations to me all the time.

What a pleasure getting to see and hear @frugallady, it takes some courage to get behind a camera. You speak English clearly and your voice is very pleasant. Welcome back to Steemit. Praying for success in all that you do. Bless the Most High!

Amen!

Thank you. I'm glad you find my voice pleasant. I hope it becomes easier every time.

P.S. this comment was typed by my lovely two-year-old assistant ;)

It's good to see you! Good for courageous you, getting up in front of a camera and speaking a second language. I'm all kinds of impressed; and that's really neat that you've been enjoying @farmerswife 's videos and ours. It's still mind-boggling that we can end up enjoying each others' videos from all different places in the world.

I agree, I feel much closer to people I've seen video of. There's something very different about hearing peoples' voices and seeing their faces as opposed to simply reading their written words.

Yes, all of a sudden you start reading their words with their voice in your head and all the subtleties become much clearer.

Great to see you, and it's great to see you active on steem again.

Not so many of the Slack Class of Summer '17 still active here alas.


Host of The Alternative Lifestyle Show on MSP Waves Radio.

Founder of the A Dollar A Day charitable giving project.


Oh, the Slack Class of Summer '17 was a good one. I'm missing a number of them. I hope to stay and currently plan to stay but I won't make any promises. My break made me realise how much I enjoy the community aspect.

Goldendawne and I are still going strong but alas most of the others have dropped away.

I've sent you a message on Discord as well.

Yes, we've lost a lot in just a year. I wonder if any of us will be here in another. I hope so! You and @goldendawne have made it big in my eyes and do so many great things for the platforms. And then there's me going on about making my business a reality... I want to be like the two of you when I grow up :)

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60986.03
ETH 2921.26
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.57