You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: My First DIY Compost.

in #homesteading5 years ago

You can literally just dig a hole in the garden and bury the scraps. They'll degrade on their own. They degrade faster if you aerate the soil occasionally though.
It looks from your images that you have the compostable materials separate from the dirt though. What you want to do is mix them up a bit, and cover them with a layer of dirt right on top. Then moisten the dirt & put something on top, like leaves, or newspaper. Also helps if you get some worms.

Sort:  

Thanks for the great advise @geekpowered! Will make another one base on your descriptions soon.

I don't have any land, all my plants are in tue pots. That's why I did it in a container.

You should be able to do it in a container still. Just should probably get worms, to speed it along so it doesn't smell. But, if it does, you can also just get a carbon filter. They're pretty cheap. My compost bin has one on the top.

If this experiment goes well, I plan to get myself a cheaper compost bin or I can diy something again. Thanks for letting me know there's such thing as a carbon filter. I have much to learn... Thanks again!

I like your instinct to try to recycle something! Just keep your eyes out & maybe you'll find a small container you can use that's a bit bigger than what you have!
Good luck!

Yup, I always find ways to reuse things around me, will keep an eye for sure.
Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63630.77
ETH 3179.32
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95