HOMEMADE tree tags #3

in #homesteading6 years ago

Hi everyone! My urban tree nursery is going to the next level and is mandatory that I label every plant and tree I have (in the city and in the field) otherwise everything is going to be a mess. I cannot rely on my memory anymore, I have 17 types of hazel trees, 60 biotypes of goji, 4 types of raspberries and the list goes on.
Initially I looked online to see what kind of tags I could buy and I was disappointed ... I just found expensive crap.
So I decided to make them ( like I usually do). I've thought about what materials to use and I decided on garbage. I've thought of using aluminium cans but i didn't have enough, plus when tied to the branches, they would scratch the bark when moved by the wind.


The necessary materials were:

  • 10 liters water bottle
  • exterior paint

The tools needed were:

  • a knife
  • pruners
  • a plier
  • one nail
  • one paint brush
  • fire source

After examining the water bottle I figured out that the easiest way of doing this is to cut on the existing lines and i ended up with a width of 2 cm ( that is perfect).


Then I cut them to length and removed the corners.


Using pliers and a red hot nail I punched the holes.

I made only 400 tags because I didn't have any more time, I had to go to work :(

The next day I wanted to paint them but i couldn't find a freaking brush so I decided to steal a nail brush from my girlfriend. WHEN STEALING A NAIL BRUSH FROM YOU’RE GIRLFRIEND BE SURE YOU ARE TAKING THE CHEAPEST ONE YOU FIND OTHERWISE YOU WILL EAT BREAD WITH SALAMI FOR DINNER!




In this picture you can see that I decided to label a bunch of hazels together because it was quicker, I'll individually label them when they will be in the field.


I hope you liked my project and hopefully it might help you.


If you are interested in joining me in my adventures follow my blog, were we are going to experiment with different styles of urban agriculture, propagate different plants from the wilderness , build orchards, create tools, understand ecosystems and create communities.

Sort:  

Nice resourcefulness! Too many plants to remember is a good thing for sure!

Thanks for your appreciation.

What's your opinion on my project @canadianrenegade ?

I think that Steemit does not send notifications that you have been tagged, it is a known issue with Steemit. I didn't see this until now. I may have to switch to busy.org. I left another comment below.

I've been using busy since the second day I made my steemit account, I had no problems with it.
Here are some features of BUSY

ACTIVITY
activitate.jpg


NOTIFICATIONS

notificari.jpg


WALLET
portofel.jpg

Thanks, I'm actually trying it out right now. I didn't realize I needed to activate the slider and I gave you a 100% up-vote on one of your comments! ;)

Yes, perfect timing. I never thought about this, but this spring is special and these tags are a must.
15220487185676291767269200700250.jpg

Also, Nazi grammar here: you're is shortcut for you are.
Unless you're your own girlfriend, that's wrong :P.

Salut merci pentru nazismul gramatical :))))))) adevarul este ca eu nu am invatat niciodata sa scriu in engleza. Pot comunica fara nici o problema, doar ca nu am invatat niciodata sa scriu. Folosesc motorul de cautare de la Google pentru a face traducerile ( NU google translate).
Numai bine!

Your Post Has Been Featured on @Resteemable!
Feature any Steemit post using resteemit.com!
How It Works:
1. Take Any Steemit URL
2. Erase https://
3. Type re
Get Featured Instantly & Featured Posts are voted every 2.4hrs
Join the Curation Team Here | Vote Resteemable for Witness

I live maybe 2500 km south of you. When exactly do you plant trees in your part of the world? I'm guessing you wouldn't chisel through frozen ground (something that hasn't happened here in Austin in about 40 years), but is it exclusively a summer activity? Do you grow your saplings in greenhouses? Am I really asking to see some article you have already written. Anyway, I'll be following you. You seem like an interesting keeper of the earth who just might teach me a thing or two.

I like the tags. My only concern is that if the tags are on trees out in the field that the paint will chip off eventually. Or are they only temporary tags?

In the past I relied on my memory. I'm not going to make that mistake again.
The tags will be permanent but I'm going to make a map of the field as well, digital and on paper.

I have made the same mistake myself with some trees I planted. Three months later I couldn't remember the order any more. A plan is a good idea.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62699.43
ETH 2963.61
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61