Hay, Jude!

in #homesteading5 years ago

Hay season has arrived! Farmer Dan baled his hay, and said I could have some for free, since my goats have been clearing his farm graveyard. We went over yesterday afternoon to pick it up. It's a good thing we waited, since it had rained that morning, and all the hay in the field was wet. Sitting in the sun all day helped to dry it.

IMG_20190707_174621802.jpg

Usually, it's blisteringly hot when we do hay, but yesterday was relatively cool and a little overcast. It doesn't feel cool when you're throwing fifty pound hay bales around, though! My son is still here, and his poor friend came over to hang out with him just in time to get roped into helping with the hay. This kid has been doing hay since he weighed as much as a hay bale, so he's the perfect helper.

IMG_20190707_203935625.jpg

We took just over fifty bales to our house. This part of the field wasn't the best hay, and it's okay to feed it to my milkers during the summer and fall when they have stuff to eat outside, but since I will be breeding at least one of them this fall, I want the good stuff for the pregnant mama. That will come in a few weeks when Farmer Dan does his other field.

IMG_20190707_185021210.jpg

Our hay loft is a bit of a pain to load hay into, since we don't have a hay elevator. That's on my wishful thinking shopping list. Our super hay helper can throw bales from the floor into the hay loft in one go, though, so as long as he's around to help, we will manage it. My son was catching them and moving them toward the back of the loft, and since I am the smallest, my job was to stack them, which involves crawling around on top of the bales, hunched against the roof, trying to get the bales into the smallest space possible. Since they got rained on in the morning (not a very hard rain), I salted them as I stacked. Spreading rock salt between layers draws the moisture out of them, and helps prevent mold, which renders them inedible, or fire, which is obviously catastrophic. Wet hay can begin to compost, which creates heat, and if the conditions are just right, it can actually spontaneously combust. Lesson: Wet hay bad, dry hay good!

IMG_20190707_192610177.jpg

The goats have to be locked out of the barn during this operation, which drives them crazy. They can see the hay coming up the hill and going into the barn, and they know quite well what's going on, but they can't eat any of it!

IMG_20190707_192626145_TOP.jpg

After we unloaded the first batch into our barn, we went back and loaded the rest of the hay onto the trailer to be moved to the brush goat hay barn. It was getting pretty late by this point, and the weather was looking ominous. In spite of the fact that I was driving a big truck and hauling a long hay trailer, I had to stop and get some weather pictures on the way back out to the field.

IMG_20190707_201620191_HDR.jpg

I only managed to get a couple of shots before the sun dipped down below the cloud bank. The clouds had such a sharp line that it almost looks like a mountain range, but the hills are visible below the clouds.

IMG_20190707_201912494_HDR.jpg

It was pretty spectacular, even if it's not obvious from these hastily snapped pictures, and I'm glad we stopped.

IMG_20190707_201922251_HDR.jpg

I was getting a little nervous as we drove back out to the field. It was getting late, and the cloud bank, while quite photogenic, looked like it was the death of all the hay, so we rushed to load the last of it onto the trailer.

IMG_20190707_202802486_HDR.jpg

We left the trailer at the property where the I store the brush goat hay, and tarped it in case of rain. Turns out that was a good call, because I woke up to a misty morning and we would have had to leave the hay out in the air all day to dry if it hadn't been covered.

IMG_20190707_181419346.jpg

After chores this morning, I met my magic farm girl, Arlee, and put the rest of the hay into the barn. The brush goats are set for the winter now! It is exhausting and sweaty and itchy work, but it is so satisfying to have a full barn and know that the goats will be fed during the cold months. I finally got a shower to wash the dust and hay bits and sweat off. Now I can rest until tomorrow, when I will have to go clip a bunch of blackberry canes for the goats, who can't reach anything else.

IMG_20190707_204740448.jpg

Sleep well, everyone! I know I will. We will see if I can move my arms tomorrow!

Sort:  

I love this landscape ... these slices of your daily work and life surrounded by great nature and all those animals like on Noah's ark ready to sail away are always interesting.

:) And yes, the clouds totally look like a mountain range... and almost forgot, the shot with the goat behind the fence, that one with the tongue out, is great in the context of the story.

It was such a great view. I'm glad we hurried with the hay. It's raining now!

Posted using Partiko Android

:) Interestingly, here was raining too in that period. And just before the rain, I was photographing ants, a really big ant community, they were sorting and transporting seeds of grass ... that reminded me on your hay action before rain :D
P2030278 mraviii 1.jpg
;)
P2030278 mraviii 2.jpg

I am lucky to live in such a beautiful area! Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Oh! Poor goats! Life isn’t fair!!

They suffer so much. Poor little spoiled babies!

Posted using Partiko Android

Haha! You spoil them all!!

Hard work! I hope you don't hurt too much tomorrow. I like to use lemongrass oil in olive/coconut oil for sore muscles. Lavender is also good, but my husband is allergic to it, so lemongrass is another option.

I will have to try the lemongrass! I'm already sore and I haven't been to bed yet! I love lavender, but it does have its own issues.

Posted using Partiko Android

Congratulations @goat-girlz! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 3500 comments. Your next target is to reach 4000 comments.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

To support your work, I also upvoted your post!

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

That bank of clouds is great. Not for the hay but you know :)

Haha! Thank you!

Posted using Partiko Android

Glad you got your winter hay for the goats. I was amazed at your son’s friend throwing 50 lb bales onto the hay loft. You do a lot of physical work so rest well.

I woke up this morning and all my joints hurt! I think I need a day off. Hay season makes me feel old!

Posted using Partiko Android

Hay, jude

you do make me laugh. Itchy, sweaty work indeed - but rewarding I bet!!!

It is rewarding, but it will be even more so when I'm done for the season! I still have several rounds to go.

Posted using Partiko Android

Oooh, fun! Square bales, eh? You don't see those around here much, anymore, although we have found a few guys that sell them square. Love the photo of the goat licking her chops! The ones with the hay in the field and that storm in the distance do took. It does look pretty ominious!

Does everyone out there do haylage? A lot of the cattle people do the huge round bales, but for goats the square ones make more sense. Although you can store haylage outside, so that's a perk.

Sweet Pea is always interested in whatever is going on, especially if she knows there is food involved!

Posted using Partiko Android

Woah I didn't know that RE wet hay composting and potentially spontaneously combusting! Crazy! That is counter intuitive. Learn something every day :)

I thought someone was pulling my leg the first time I heard that, but apparently it happens!

Posted using Partiko Android


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63892.45
ETH 3117.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87