I'm almost asleep already

in #homesteading5 years ago

I made the dubious decision to invite some friends over for dinner tonight. They have hosted us several times in the last few months, but I haven't reciprocated because our house is not fit for visitors, since the puppies have staged a coup and are ruling with an iron fist. An iron fist that smells a lot like pee. Fortunately, these are very, very good friends, who also adopted one of the puppies and are also farmers, so they will not judge me. Nevertheless, I have spent many hours over the last couple of days trying to make it look less like a homeless camp in here. All that is the preface for my very boring post, because I am exhausted already and they won't even be here for three more hours.

One of my favorite things about our farm is the path up to the barn, especially this time of year, when the heuchera are blooming.

IMG_20190510_190211808.jpg

Here it is from the top going down.

IMG_20190510_190133254.jpg

Behind the barn we have these lovely yellow flowers, planted by the previous owner. I can't remember what they are called, but I love them.

IMG_20190510_082611572_HDR (1).jpg

This one is just waking up, and if you turn it sideways, it looks like a shy fairy with very big hair.

IMG_20190510_082611572_HDR.jpg

This is one of my top three favorite hostas. I have six or seven, so top three doesn't mean as much as you might think. Don't tell the hosta or it will give in to the slugs out of despair.

IMG_20190511_152749707.jpg

I will leave you with another reflection from yesterday. I am having trouble typing because of all the blackberry clipping I did yesterday, so I think I need to give my hands and wrists a break!

IMG_20190510_130416810.jpg

Be well, everyone, and I apologize for my uninspired post. Some days it's harder than others to be creative.

Sort:  

What a lovely walk to the barn! I hope you were able to enjoy your dinner with your friends. I did that for most of my life... Worked to make everything clean and lovely for the arriving company, and then I would be so tired that I could hardly enjoy having them there. I think I have learned not to do that anymore, people are coming to see me, not my house.

I have learned not to care for the most part too, but I have four puppies in the house who aren't quite potty trained. Even my most forgiving friends get the mop treatment before they come over! We had a wonderful time. It was nice to feel like a normal person and not a cabin fevered puppy nanny!

Posted using Partiko Android

looks like your doing an awesome job upkeeping your farm and your post is very inspiring
have a good evening

Beautiful place, and you shared it with us. That's all that's required. :-)

I agree that that's not a gerbera. I think it's scientifically called a daisy-like flower... lol. Beyond that, I'd have to dig, dig for more info. But I think that group is a bit of a muddle anyway.

Hahahaha! I suspect you're right about the scientific name!

Posted using Partiko Android

How about doronicum? It looks pretty similar.

Posted using Partiko Android

I can't get a good look at the leaves on your flower. Most of the images I just looked at have arrow-shaped leaves.

Looks a bit like the old fashioned gerber daisies my mom has in her yard. The ones you see in stores nowadays are fatter and fancier. I love them both.

That is a lovely path.

It does look like a gerber daisy, but I don't think that's it. I really enjoy their brief visit every spring, though. So cheerful.

Posted using Partiko Android

I thought you were going to sleep the rest of the weekend! hehehe

Sleep! Oh no. I'm not allowed to sleep. I managed to stay up until 10 last night and still woke up at 3:30. I give up!

Posted using Partiko Android

You may be tired, but you have a beautiful place!

Thank you! I'm sure you know how much work it is to keep a farm afloat!

Lovely walk out back by the barn :-=)

Love the tree-lined path to the barn. The yellow daisy-like flowers and your hostas are beautiful. Hope you get to enjoy your company and not be bone weary from all the preparation. 💕

Thank you! I did have a lovely evening!

Posted using Partiko Android

It is good to do something different once in a while, like inviting friends over for dinner, and catching up on what's going on. I find that my outings are more enjoyable, when it is dinner at a friend's place. Just a few close friends dining, drinking and talking about anything and everything under the sun. That's one of my favourite ways of enjoying an evening out.

I hope you had a great evening.

Nice pictures. The hostas look lovely.

Mmmmm.... Deer food! Do they leave your hostas alone? The ones around here see them as tasty salads. Hope the hands are feeling better.

We don't have too much trouble with deer. Too many dogs! The chickens like to peck the hostas apart, though. And the slugs adore them.

Posted using Partiko Android

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86