You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Digging and Processing Garlic

in #homesteading6 years ago

What a wonderful post! I just planted garlic for the first time last year and have been wondering how to harvest. I harvested the scapes earlier to make some homemade salad dressing and to use as seasoning on grilled meat.. but now I know how to do the garlic and bulbs itself.

Sort:  

I realized with your reply I had not said exactly when one harvested garlic. You wait until the bottom 2 leaves turn brown.

Basically, as each leaf turns brown, the skin over the bulb that it formed starts to decompose. The longer you leave the garlic, the fewer skins the bulb will have. This will affect how well it stores and cures.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 61766.85
ETH 3081.60
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.82