A Look Around - October 1, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Big garden - cleome crop October 2019.jpg
Big garden – cleome still flowering its heart out

Big garden - chrysanthemum crop October 2019.jpg
Big garden – my “goldy” mum

I was given this mum several years ago. I love it because the flowers are a golden color. It lived in the V garden until this spring. I had to move it into the Big garden.

V Garden - goldy chrysanthemum crop Oct. 2015.jpg
V Garden – Goldy mum October 2015

It always stayed the same size, roughly 18” in diameter and 16” high. The soil in this garden hadn’t been improved much, but I did feed the plants each year with Espoma FlowerTone. The mum did well here, flowered nicely and survived the winters.

I was astounded when I moved the weeds out in the Big garden to discover it was easily 4X the size it had ever been! And you can see it is just covered in buds.

Big garden - azalea flower crop October 2019.jpg

Another transplant into the Big garden, this azalea has never looked back. It even had a flower during the end of September.

Small garden - halfway point crop October 2019.jpg

Tuesday morning my helper friend was here and worked on the Small garden garlic area. He’s at the halfway point now.

New Herb - Row 2, lavender crop October 2019.jpg
New Herb garden – Row 1, butterflyweed seed pods opening

I need to gather some of these and put them in the wildflower seeds on the mountain.

New Herb - Row 2, lavender crop October 2019.jpg
New Herb garden – Row 2, lavender

Now it doesn’t have the tansy lying on top of it, the lavender is perking up.

Wildflower seedlings1 crop October 2019.jpg
Wildflower seedlings on top of the mountain

Wildflower seedlings2 crop October 2019.jpg

More seedlings on the sloped side by the forsythia. This is the only slope to have flowers. The other 3 are grass.

Sort:  

It's always a pleasure to see your gardens! I have no idea how you keep all this up.
I don't think you have the right pix for the butterfly weed, but I'm glad the lavender is perking up. That is one thing I have never managed to keep alive. Either it just doesn't like where it is, or other plants like where it is so much it gets suffocated before I notice.

The butterflyweed I am sure of, I started it from seed. :))

I've never been able to keep lavender alive either. I was so surprised it survived the winter when so many much hardier things did not.

Wow! Big changes from the last tour you put up. Looking great!! You have been hard at work!!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60625.76
ETH 2898.84
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62