January 29 – February 4, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Leaning icycles crop Jan. 2019.jpg

I’ve mentioned in the past how wind is something we must always take into consideration with everything we do here. We had a bad cold snap, down to -20F at night and single digits during the day.

At some point it was warm enough to drip, but the icicles frozen sideways from the wind….

I’ve gotten 2 deliveries of amendments so far, and all of the very few seeds I am ordering this year have come in.

Working on layer stats crop Feb. 2018.jpg

In the mornings before I get too exhausted from coughing, I’ve been trying to get the end of the year paperwork done. I did the layer stats the other day. The most impressive fact from last year is that our 18 hens laid 4554 eggs, up 28% over the previous year and 200 eggs more than when we had a flock of 22 one year. The overall Rate of Lay wasn’t the highest: only 69%. And the cost of feed was pretty high due to a lack of animal protein last year. I was buying vegs to keep them occupied and it added up. So eggs were $5.62 a doz.

Doing taxes crop Feb 2019.jpg

I also got the tax stuff as ready as I could for the tax guy. We’ll have an appointment with him next week.

This weekend a warm front moved in and it went from -15F one night to +30F the next night. It’s been in the 50’s the last few days. We still have a lot of snow left though.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64093.86
ETH 3123.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94