On Friday … December 1, 2018 @goldenoakfarm

Christmas - bulbs1 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

Friday I was here by myself most of the day. My husband had gone pollock fishing. My helper friend came in for a couple hours. While he finished off the parsnips, making 4 quarts of diced for hash, I worked on the tree. There were still a lot of parsnips left when he got done, so I sent them home with him.

Christmas - bulbs2 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

So I kept on, putting the final touch of solid color bulbs in dark holes on the tree.

Christmas - tree finished crop Nov. 2018.jpg

I put the star on top and the skirt underneath, and do you know, that cat hasn’t deigned to even look at it….

Christmas - stockings1 crop Nov. 2018.jpg
The stocking my grandmother knitted me when I was tiny

Next I hung the stockings on the posts where they’ve hung for the last 27 years, waiting for one day there to be a mantle…

Christmas - stockings2 crop Nov. 2018.jpg

Christmas - future mantle crop Nov. 2018.jpg

I am hoping that in the next 2 years or less, this area will be filled in with stone, a barnboard cupboard, and a mantle….

Mug of eggnog crop Nov. 2018.jpg

My helper took the remaining Christmas boxes upstairs and I put them all away. I was DONE! Now I could read my Christmas stories, watch the Christmas movies with popcorn, and enjoy a big mug of homemade eggnog.

It’s taken me far longer this year due to a big Thanksgiving I had to recover from and not being able to stand for long periods. But now I can enjoy it for a full month!

Oh, and my husband got 2 big bags of pollock fillets and a few haddock. He had a wonderful day.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

oh my, you are SO organized. Your tree looks so gorgeous. wow! I really love the stockings and I can bet there are a lot of treasured ornaments on that tree. Just lovely.

I found that taking the extra time to pack them carefully and handle them carefully meant they would last decades, which they have.

We looked a long time when my son was born to find the 2 stockings for him and my husband. Not quite the same as mine but pretty nice anyways. Even the house cat has a small stocking...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 64266.51
ETH 3121.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.08