You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Successful Homestead Management ... Knowing your resources

A really good point about holes. I am very aware of the holes that would be left if my husband becomes more incapacitated. The vehicle repair/maintenance, carpentry skills beyond my own, computer expertise, and driving. I've sometimes thought about what will happen...

But given our level of health, there's not much I can do about filling those holes myself.

If something happened to me, the holes would be financial management, gardening of any types (he DOESN'T do gardens...), household management, farm management on many levels, and food preservation. I expect there's more as those categories are very broad...

I sometimes wonder what will happen, but not too much, most of my energy goes to keeping going day to day.

Sort:  

Thank you for bringing another important point into this discussion. After all we are only ' borrowing earth'. ;)

Management plans are for the now, the short and long term future. Identifying eventual holes in the plan is an important part too.

I personally stay away from all the noisy gas operated time saving solutions...lol... So I would be buying firewood for sure. Having the extra folks here makes it a challenge to juggle at times, yet is security by having more backs to catch the work of another who may be incapacitated or have passed on.

I recently attended a gathering of homesteaders in this area. The common age was about 60, there seem to be many folks choosing this lifestyle as a retirement plan. They were gathering trying to fill these holes for themselves by working as a group on filling them. A young strong back seems to be what they needed most!

I have sought out a community around here as you described but have not found anything. I don't have the energy to start something, but could help out if it was ongoing.

A single strong back would make a HUGE difference around here. But alas...

We have no option but to rely on gas power, as our physical health doesn't allow otherwise and there's no $$ for buying in things or paying someone to do it.

Transition plans often offer the future of taking over the farm, but they usually have separate accommodations for the younger family. We don't have the option of separate housing here. It's something strongly encouraged, so the sanity of all concerned, and I understand why.

Did you have any responses to the @s-h-e-p / @kin-shep post you made?

I am considering making one...I think it is an amazing opportunity if it can just get noticed and used.

The veggie farm I talk about in this post had 2-4 interns a summer and it was a fantastic experience overall.

No, no response at all...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.11
JST 0.031
BTC 68331.60
ETH 3842.80
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.64