You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: What is life like as a homesteader? Walkerland Edition

My husband and I are also together 24/7/365 and have been doing this since 1998. We go back a tad farther though, to 1974. :)

A well thought out post outlining a lot of important points. We have taught ourselves many many skills because we could not afford to pay someone else to do things. Like building our own house, twice, by ourselves, keeping all vehicles running, learning butchering and food preservation techniques, keeping computers running, sewing, gardening, and the list goes on and on.

I was talking to a nutritionist the other day, and she said I was the first person she knew who cooked entirely from scratch. Sad commentary...

I don't mind the isolation, prefer my own company to most people's. And I get really tired of the comment: "It's sooo much work!" Anything worthwhile is worth working for!

Sort:  

Anything worthwhile is worth working for!

That is so true. Sadly many people end up working for things they don't feel worthwhile. I think it's important that people realize that this lifestyle is a lot of work, and it's not some romantic notion from a book. That said, it's the best work I've ever done in my life. I just love it. I am hooked!

1974! That is wonderful. I love reading about long unions. Its become such a rare thing. Some of my friends tell me they would HATE to be around their spouse all day and would never homestead because of that. That makes me sad.

I think the tides are changing. More and more people are wanting to learn about food, cooking and all those skills that have been forgotten. There's still time to turn things around in this word. :)

Even sadder when they say they couldn't homeschool their kids because they couldn't stand to have them around that much. Heard that one more than once...

oh ..that's sad. I would have given anything to not have to send my son to school every day. I hated being parted from my son. If we had it to do all over again, the things I would do differently ...

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 69571.32
ETH 3782.89
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88