The Gardens Start to Disappear - July 8, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

Wood moved crop July 2019.jpg

On Sunday my husband finished moving the wood from the trees.

Woodpile crop July 2019.jpg
The woodpile

Laundry on line crop July 2019.jpg

I got an early start on Monday morning, our 1 day of decent temperatures for the next 2 weeks. Three loads of laundry on the line by 6:30 and husband up and moving to help me move plants.

Old North - Jacob's ladder crop May 2019.jpg
Old North garden before

We started in the Old North garden and only had to dig in 3’. The blood root could stay.

Old North - dug up crop July 2019.jpg

We took out the American ginger, astilbe, Jacob’s ladder, and looked for the roots to the lesser celandine but could not find them. They got planted in the Big garden near the apple tree, as that’s the most shade I have there.

Old North - azalea2 crop June 2019.jpg
Azalea in Old North garden in June

Next we pruned the azalea heavily, took off about ⅓ of it, as it will be dug up and moved by the excavator contractor.

Old North - azalea pruned crop July 2019.jpg
Azalea after pruning

Bulkhead - violets, pink lamium, yellow lamium, white iris crop June 2019.jpg
Bulkhead garden in June

Next we moved onto the Bulkhead garden. We dug up the bulbs using my map, but only found about ½ of them. Then we dug the Sylvia violet, the pink lamium, the white iris and finally the trailing lamium. They all went into the Big garden, in the back behind the horehound.

Bulkhead - dug up crop July 2019.jpg
Bulkhead after

Things like hybrid spiderwort, lily of the valley, violets, and creeping thyme will be dug if I have room in the Big garden once I am done.

East - giant allium, bleeding heart, lungwort, hyssop, violets, white iris crop June 2019.jpg
East garden in June

In the East garden, along the bulkhead, we dug up bulbs and got lots of large giant alliums. We found a few daffodils and crocus, and a few chiondoxas. We didn’t find a lot of ones we looked for though. Then we dug the veronica, verbascum, and lungwort and planted them in the Big garden.

We dug the species spiderwort and the sedum and the lovage and moved them to the Big garden. Everything got mulched as we went.

I was getting tired and my husband had had enough of the gardens by 11 AM so we set up the sprinkler in the Big garden and quit for the day.

We got about ⅓ of the digging done. We plan to get a very early start, about 5:30AM, tomorrow as the heat returns.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

How do you plan to deal with the stumps? Dig out? Burn out? Let rot? I ask this, because this is a constant struggle for us as to what we want to do with them. We had to clear woods for everything to the house to the pastures and stumps are a constant nuisance. So, just wondering what other people do about it.

My husband said to tell you the yellow T. Rex will take care of them in the next 3 weeks. We have someone coming to build the septic system and dig the cellar hole, and they will pull them out. :))

HAHA well, there's that!

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

Sounds like your garden is keeping you very busy. I wonder what happened to those elusive bulbs. I know I have a habit of thinking I've cleared everything only to have surprises show up next season.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

*follow: @homesteaderscoop

I suspect many just died or rotted. I have all my bulbs marked with a marker, and on a map. And then there's the chipmunks....

I left hundreds of tiny bulbs from snow drops, chiondoxa, and Star of Bethlehem. And giant allium. I just kept the big ones. I bet we find those all over the yard in coming springs.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62559.43
ETH 3092.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86