Wandering Around the New Herb Garden - July 10, 2019 @goldenoakfarm

New Herb - Row 5, honesty seedheads crop July 2019.jpg
Row 5: honesty seed pods

These are what drew me into the garden. They are a long way from finished as they will turn a golden/silvery color then.

New Herb - Row 2, fairy with anise hyssop and dill crop July 2019.jpg
Row 2: fairy behind anise hyssop and under dill

Then I realized I’d never gotten a photo of the fairy and birdbath after we moved them into this garden yesterday.

New Herb - Row 2, Blue flax and borage crop July 2019.jpg
Row 2: Blue flax and borage

I was stopped on my way to the birdbath by the lovely blue of these volunteers.

New Herb - Row 2,  borage crop July 2019.jpg
Row 2: borage

And again by the prolific borage flowers.

New Herb - Row 2, basil crop July 2019.jpg
Row 2: basil

Last time I looked at the basil, it was still small and attempting to flower. I’d removed the flowers. But it is starting to look like decent basil, after being chilled far too many times.

New Herb - Row 2,  tansy crop July 2019.jpg
Row 2: tansy

I’d almost made it to the end of the row and was stopped by the tansy, which had grown out into the walkway. It must be 7’ across now.

New Herb - Row 3, birdbath in bee balm crop July 2019.jpg
Row 3: the birdbath in the bee balm bed

I finally made it to the end and onto Row 3 where we’d put the birdbath in the only open spot, in the now empty bee balm bed.

New Herb - Row 3, snapdragons crop July 2019.jpg
Row 3: snapdragons

I’ve always love snapdragons because you can make them “talk” by squeezing the sides of the flower together.

New Herb - Row 4, echinacea paradoxa buds crop July 2019.jpg
Row 4: Echinacea paradoxa buds

I’d spotted these buds a day or so ago, and finally got a photo of them. I am still amazed at how well this plant from the Ozarks has done here in cold New England.

New Herb - Row 4, stocks, purslane crop July 2019.jpg
Row 4: stocks and purslane

I continued to wander around and saw the stocks had really started to flower well. And as usual, the purslane was enormous.

New Herb - Row 1, santolina flowers crop July 2019.jpg
Row 1: santolina flowers

I glanced around one last time and caught sight of the santolina in Row 1. It was now flowering, another plant that has typically not survived a New England winter.

So those are the stars of the garden for this week.

Join Us on Discord. https://discord.gg/hPJs5Rb

Sort:  

The bird bath is lovely. Is it glass? I need to clean ours as the winter rains mean it's been full and greeting algae.

Posted using Partiko Android

Yes, some kind of thick glass. I found it at a tag sale for $5. It does get algae pretty quickly. I have the stone in it (which doesn't help the algae) to keep the wind from blowing it off.

You've been visited by @porters from Homesteaders Co-op. What a lovely selection of plants in your herb garden! It looks like you give them such good care too! Nature does surprise us with how tough some of those plants can be! Glad some of your Ozarks plants have survived and seem to be thriving in your New England home. Thanks for sharing it's inspiring to see such a well cared for and productive herb garden! --- Homesteaders Co-op A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com follow: @homesteaderscoop

As it started with very poor soil, I am often amazed at how well some of the plants do. This is the 4th season, and I've worked diligently trying to improve the soil.

This garden will soon have a mini wall (think English walled garden) on one side to hold warmth and slightly break the sweeping wind. I hope it will mean I won't lose so many plants in winter....

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64386.10
ETH 3142.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98