Homestead TriviasteemCreated with Sketch.

in #homesteading6 years ago

IMG_20171119_133102 (3).jpg

One inch of rain will provide .623 gallons of water per square foot. That is equal to 27,150 gallons per acre. With a roof area of 2,000 square feet, you can collect about 1,250 gallons per inch of rain.

Thanks for reading my post.

                     ***********************

Our “An American Homestead” family on Steemit:
Grandpa and Grandma: @hansjurgen
Daughter, son-in-law: @mericanhomestead
Grandson #1: @thehomeschoolkid
Grandson #2: Someday

For more articles and videos on off-grid homesteading and on-line store visit https://anamericanhomestead.com/ also
https://www.patreon.com/AnAmericanHomestead

Sort:  

Maybe I missed it at some point but what kind of roofing material do you have on all of your buildings? I ask because I would imagine that having a metal roof would be better than one with shingles on it!

We have tin roofing on our deck and all the outbuildings. On the house we have asphalt singles. We don't notice notice a difference in the dirt washed in the tanks.

I wondered because I figured you would not want the chemicals from the asphalt shingles getting into your water supply. Whether for you, plants or animals just seems like asphalt would be good to avoid.

Great info thanks for sharing.

I never thought about it that way. I should though since we collect the rain off our roofs to use on the homestead.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60463.70
ETH 2889.42
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.59