No Fear of Cheese Failure

No fear of cheese failure.png

I waited sooooo long to learn how to make cheese. I was milking two Jerseys and drowning in milk before I finally had the opportunity to learn some simple, natural cheese making methods. However, cheese making was a skill I desperately wanted to learn for a very long time…so why did I wait? I was afraid of failing at it. Why? It seemed REALLY complicated. There are very specific times and temperatures. Different cultures, different processes. So, I waited.

I look back on how tentative I was and shake my head. Although it’s so true that cheese making requires specific times, temperatures and processes…each of these things aren’t in and of themselves complicated. Cheese making is actually really simple. It is, however, very involved.

My favourite learning since back then is that it’s pretty hard to fail at making simple cheeses. And here’s my secret as to why…

After many many many batches of cheese, I’ve messed up a lot. But…I also learned an important trick. When a batch of cheese doesn’t work quite right….dehydrate it, then powder it in your food processor or blender. What do you have? A topping for casseroles and salads. A cheese powder for fast and easy mac n cheese. A cheesy addition to a creamy soup. A cheesy addition to breads and homemade crackers…I’m sure you can come up with even more great ideas!

I did have a whole host of pictures to share of a batch of cheese that I turned into powder and each step…but my cell phone contract was up two weeks ago. And…as soon as I wasn’t locked in with my device…it mysteriously died. Go figure. The joke is on them though…I’m not replacing it. Soooo….the pictures are trapped for now until I repair the device and get them off.

I hope that the anticipation of such wonderful results from what could be considered a flub helps you overcome any hesitancy you might have to learning this delicious skill!

From my home fire to yours, hai hai.

Harvard to Homestead.png

Sort:  

Making mistakes is part of the learning process. I had been holding back on making cheese too, but I have tossed that fear aside and will plunge into it. If if I have to podwer some cheese up, it is not lost. Just in a different form.

I'm trying to convince on cheese maker to join Steemit and start talking about his cheese.

@harvardhomestead Great ideas for the cheese failures. Thanks for the ideas!

I sort of feel the same way about cheese making. It just seems hard. Thanks for sharing.

I wouldn't mind asking you a few questions about your milk cows sometime. 🙂

Please ask away!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66306.00
ETH 3012.37
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.70