Mining for Gold...or maybe it was carrots

in #homesteading6 years ago

This year I planted less than half the amount of carrots I've planted the last few years. Last year the gophers or moles ate about half the carrots so this year I decided to give them less satisfaction.

One sunny day in October I went out to the garden and started to dig. I hadn't pulled any carrots since planting and was just hoping they would be intact. I tried pulling them out by their tops, but they were stubborn so I resorted to the shovel. I loosened the dirt around the carrots and my girls excitedly discovered carrot after carrot. To my surprise and delight not a single carrot had been touched by underground rodents.

IMG_20181008_153715.jpg

There were times when I wasn't sure if she was putting carrots on the pile or taking them off.

IMG_20181008_153646.jpg

Many of the carrots had meager greens so it was hard to spot where exactly they were. My rows weren't always perfectly straight so I had to do exploratory shoveling in a few areas.

After about an hour we had a nice pile of carrots. We cut off the tops and loaded them in the wheelbarrow. Its hard to say how many carrots were eaten before we were done working. The girls ate them whole, dirt and all!

IMG_20181008_153721.jpg

My tomatoes grew much bigger than I was expecting, then they complicated matters by leaning right over the row of carrots. I had to pull the dead plants aside to get underneath them. I was pleasantly surprised to find a whole row of carrots had grown under the bushy tomato plants.

IMG_20181008_155858.jpg

Compared to what you buy in a grocery store, these carrots taste like a totally different vegetable! We promptly had cooked carrots for supper and will enjoy these in vegetable stew for the rest of the winter.

Sort:  

@homespun, go and place your daily vote for Steem on netcoins! http://contest.gonetcoins.com/

Congratulations! This post has been upvoted from the communal account, @minnowsupport, by homespun from the Minnow Support Project. It's a witness project run by aggroed, ausbitbank, teamsteem, someguy123, neoxian, followbtcnews, and netuoso. The goal is to help Steemit grow by supporting Minnows. Please find us at the Peace, Abundance, and Liberty Network (PALnet) Discord Channel. It's a completely public and open space to all members of the Steemit community who voluntarily choose to be there.

If you would like to delegate to the Minnow Support Project you can do so by clicking on the following links: 50SP, 100SP, 250SP, 500SP, 1000SP, 5000SP.
Be sure to leave at least 50SP undelegated on your account.

Due to excessive rain, our carrot crop was a big failure. I think there was 15# for 92' of row...

Last year, I got 125# for the same length...

Ouch! I guess one of the fun things about gardening is it is unpredictable :)


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61994.03
ETH 2917.97
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.62