You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Permaculture Radio Show: Observe & Interact

in #homesteading6 years ago

This is such an important point and I'm glad it's the bedrock idea. I've been trying to plan out a house design, and while there are things I know matter to me no matter where I am (such as not having my bedroom window face east and having bathroom windows that open), my builder and I are waiting to pin down most things about the design until we've spent more time on the land. There is a little hut there now, and I may car camp in it a few nights after the purchase of the land is complete, so that I get more of a feel for how the land changes throughout the days.

That of course is no comparison with cultures that developed through centuries of observation and adaptation. It's a start though.

Sort:  

There is a little hut there now, and I may car camp in it a few nights after the purchase of the land is complete, so that I get more of a feel for how the land changes throughout the days.

mmmmm i love this idea. let the land reveal herself to you... it is amazing how when we spend time in place, it reaches us and we just know things, and we also can observe a great deal. it truly is the first step. excited with you.

and yes, definitely not even touching upon these past cultures. they're inspirations and guideposts to us!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 69633.73
ETH 3805.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.74