Jackpot! Found stinging nettle in the yard!

in #homesteading6 years ago

What a find! Stinging Nettle

I once thought that stinging nettle was a weed and a nasty one at that. Brushing it on your skin results in a painful rash. But we've discovered that stinging nettle is both edible and very good for you.

Here are some of the health benefits of stinging nettle:

  • Nettle stimulates the lymph system to boost immunity
  • Nettle relieves arthritis symptoms
  • Nettle promotes a release from uric acid from joints
  • Strengthens the fetus in pregnant women
  • Promotes milk production in lactating women
  • Helps break down kidney stones
  • Reduces hypertension

  • Helps with respiratory tract disease
  • Supports the kidneys
  • Helps asthma sufferers
  • Reduces inflammation
  • Reduces incident of prostate cancer
  • Minimizes skin problems
  • Cures the common cold
  • Helps with osteoarthritis
  • Alleviates diarrhea

  • Helps with gastrointestinal disease, IBS, and constipation
  • Reduces gingivitis and prevents plaque when used as a mouth wash.
  • Has been shown to be helpful to in the treatment of Alzheimer’s disease
  • Relieves neurological disorders like MS, ALS and sciatica
  • Destroys intestinal worms or parasites
  • Supports the endocrine health by helping the thyroid, spleen and pancreas

Source

I'm going to dry this plant and save it for tea. Steeping it in almost boiling water for a few minutes will make a medicinal tea that will give all these benefits.

It's valuable too. At almost $3.75 per oz, this is a treasure!

Have you tried Stinging Nettle Tea?

Let me know in the comments!

@ironshield

Benjamin Turner: God fearer. Rooted in Messiah. Husband of @lturner. Father of four wonderful children. The guy behind the camera. Steemit enthusiast.

Bless the Most High!

Sort:  

I have never heard of that plant before! I didn't know that a plant like that could have so many benefits. My family would like to have a plant like that in our backyard.

That is currently my # 1 favorite plant!

Hi @papa-pepper, hope you are finding plenty of uses for nettles with the book.

So if you rub against it this will give you a rash, but if you eat it then you will get all them good benifits from it? I did not know something could do both, bad and good for you. Where is this thing found at? what part of the country? Thanks for this good info.

Pretty much yes. While fresh, the tiny spines causes a rash when rubbed against skin. It must be dried and/or cooked before eating. I haven't tried eating it yet, it smells like spinach. It grows all throughout the US. @ironshield

I have not tried it yet but I have heard good things about it! Keep us updated!

I'll do another post when I try it. @ironshield

I have had nettles. A friend would wildcraft stinging nettles and make an infused water with fresh nettles. She was using it for many purposes.

I like your post because it helps people understand that they can find useful herbs in the wild, just like in Skyrim.
🌱 🐉🐟🐬🐋

There are a few old timers in my town that have arthritis and rheumatism (like many older people) and they use nettles to treat the inflammation by stinging themselves. I guess it works exceptionally well. Sure beats taking some shitty pharmaceutical poison bullshit.

I've never tried it, but seeing that the list of benefits go on and on, maybe I should! Thanks for sharing! :)

I remember when I thought it was a weed too. But it has turned out to be a valuable commodity on the homestead.

Yes! I drink it in a detox tea. My father in law has used it for prostate issues and has had no issues since drinking it.

I've never tried it before but it's amazing to learn about all the benefits it has! Thanks for sharing!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 64231.88
ETH 3128.59
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.95