Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 31 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


This is a video from Day 31 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-seven days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about getting some late night trespassers the night before and one of my dogs getting injured. It is worth noting that occurrence/incident marks a turning point for me in my journey. In the video I mention a post I made containing the details of what occurred and I am going to include it below at the bottom of this article.

I talk some about my solar power and battery usage and a test that I conducted to see how long my large deep cycle battery would last without a charge.

I also talk about how a friend identified the creosote as second and third stage creosote.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Note: There is a Part Two to this day but for some reason it is not showing up in my channel on D.Tube so I am including it's link here: Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 31 Part 2

Below is the post that I mentioned:

Day-31 02-12-2017

Day 31 Early A.M. Those little trespassing fuckers injured one of my dogs. What kind of shitheads trespass onto someone else's property then injures a dog that's protecting that place! I even called out to them before the first dog reached them with a "What are yal doing in these woods? Yal ain't got no business here. Come on out and show yourselves. You are trespassing." They were really close uphill from me and I know they heard my loud ass mouth. Half this holler could hear me if they were outside at the time. They got quiet and she (the dog) got closer to them and from two hundred or so feet away I heard a terrible whacking sound and the dog grunting from the blow. She's tough as nails and didn't yelp but I heard her take a tumble and them running off through the woods. I was already holding the other three dogs back because I didn't want them packing up and harming whoever it was. Not that That has ever happened before (them harming folks) but better to be safe. After hearing that I said "Come on out or I will put these dogs on you." which were all barking insanely behind me like I've never heard them barking before. I waited a moment and said again (because I heard them pause in their running) "Last chance. Come on out you ain't got no business here." Then a short pause and I said "You can deal with me, the dogs or the law. Come on out last chance!" They didn't budge and after a brief moment I said "Okay you can deal with me and the dogs then." Then I let the other three loose and heard them running and talking to each other as they did. They were much further up the hill by now and sounded like they were getting close to exiting the property so I called all the dogs back before the dogs could reach them and just started saying things with my more 'Slingblade' voice like "Yal come up in here looking for trouble you're gonna damn sure find it." And my personal favorite "I ain't nice enough to shoot you." And some other stuff that I can't recall clearly but all of it along those lines. I figured it was all done and they were gone and that was that. Then they fucking came right back not even really thirty minutes later. Talking but not quite as loud as the very first time and obviously not trying to keep me from hearing them. So this time I came out the door yelling "Yal want some come fucking get it I'm right here in the open." Just then the clouds moved from in front of the moon and it got super bright out and I said something like. "See there! Even the moonlight is getting brighter...I hope you can see me now. Come get it. We are gonna have some fun now!" I think that or me saying something about hog tying and 'purdy' mouths finally struck a nerve and they fled. Which was wise because the dogs had all packed up around me and we were heading as a unit towards them. So I paused part way up the hill with the dogs in the shadows and just waited to see if they would stop running but they didn't. I waited and waited and it wasn't until I was satisfied they were gone before I came out of the woods with the dogs and saw my big dog was limping (favoring a leg on her front side) a lot. I have shit for lights at the moment and my batteries all happened to die tonight but I looked her over the best I could and she ain't bleeding but she's definitely hurt and like I said favoring that front quarter or leg. A very cold calm has come over me and a frown that I know all to well as a sign that I ain't gonna take no more horseshit and if they return I am gonna have to deal with them myself until the law arrives which is the first thing I'm gonna do if I hear their voices again. Those voices are etched crystal clear in my memory also. Some folks just don't understand that the dogs ain't never what to worry about...the thing to worry about is me and God damn it I'm in the mood now.


▶️ DTube
▶️ IPFS

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94