Day 755 (Daily Post)

in #homesteading5 years ago

Day 755. Occasionally I take a look at the news and although I seldom am actually impressed/educated or even 'informed' by it I nonetheless do it as a sort of token gesture (an assuredly halfassed gesture on my part) so that I can tell myself that I have at least made an effort to see what is going on or at least how 'what is going on' is being portrayed. All in all I do not think that I have been missing much the last few years as I have steadily 'tuned out' more and more mainstream (and not-so-mainstream) media in general and 'tuned in' more to my own thoughts, perceptions and albeit musings. My mind definitely seems clearer because of it and although I still have the occasional nightmare they do not occur nearly as frequently as they did for most of my life. I am sure there are other factors contributing to the lack of nightmares but I also notice that on the occasions that I do actually 'tune into' the media that my chances of having nightmares goes up rather dramatically. The odds go up so much that I tend to only look at the media when I am in a really good mood and that seems to work somewhat as an antidote to the poison I am subjecting my mind to. Personally I am rather fond of noticing what gears are turning in my head and furthermore not just why the hell they are turning but alas are those gears rusty, do they need oiled, do they need to be replaced, or should I just let them seize up and halt their incessant grinding. In other words I absolutely enjoy tinkering with 'what is under the hood' because after all it is the only thing that I truly have any dominion over...so why the hell not? All that jazz aside I got a bit lackadaisical with monitoring my electricity consumption the last few days and today was rather overcast and I belatedly realized that pretty much all my batteries need a good charge which sort of sucks and was also totally avoidable but hey not thinking about it all for a few days was pretty nice in a 'one less thing to think about' sort of way. Anyway I'm going to cut this short and just say everything is going well and I have been absolutely loving the warmer weather. Be well.

Note: As some of you know I have been making these 'Daily Post' on another platform ever since I began my stay at this old farm seven hundred and fifty-five days ago. Ever since I began using Steemit I have considered posting them here as well but have been hesitant to do so because the content of them varies and thus it is difficult to tag as 'one thing or another' and they do not always directly relate to homesteading, off grid living or whatever. I also type them out in a notepad App on an Android phone and post them as a 'wall of text' instead of breaking them into paragraphs because the platform that I copy and paste them to formats them into a 'wall of text' even if I break them into paragraphs. I am not going to correctly format them and have grown to enjoy their rambling nature. So this is sort of a test and I appreciate any feedback that folks may have.

Sort:  

... I appreciate any feedback that folks may have.

It was an interesting read. Since deleting my FB account politics have taken a back seat in my life. That is probably somewhat the same as to what you are talking about. Although not prone to nightmares my raves are less frequent these days. 😎

Yeah I especially can barely stomach politics at this point and tend to avoid it at all cost. I still use FB but my eyes just go out of focus when I see anything related to politics. I try not to let that crap get past what I call my 'mental firewall'.

Hello @jacobpeacock, thank you for sharing this creative work! We just stopped by to say that you've been upvoted by the @creativecrypto magazine. The Creative Crypto is all about art on the blockchain and learning from creatives like you. Looking forward to crossing paths again soon. Steem on!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.032
BTC 62187.20
ETH 3051.46
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.79