Jacob Goes Off Grid Day 32 Part 1

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)


This is a video from Day 32 of going off-grid. I went 'off grid' five hundred and seventy-eight days ago and it has been quite the journey since I got dropped off at this old fallow farm and built (continue to build) all my own infrastructure. I have been video documenting the entire process and have just recently begun publicly sharing some of the videos. I have been sharing the videos privately since I started the entire process which I call Jacob Goes Off Grid In The Woods. 'Day 1' is the morning after I arrived at this little place in the mountains in the 'dead of winter' on January thirteenth of two thousand and seventeen with my dogs, my wits, minimal gear and very little hard currency to work with. Slowly I have done my best to breathe life into a very old farm and give it all my best, 'learning as I go', and documenting the process as best I can. It has been quite the journey so far. @jacobpeacock

In this video I talk about how it is really cold outside and windy and how I stay in the mini-shelter to stay warm until the weather gets a little nicer. I talk about listening to the weather radio and learning that there is a 'burn ban' in affect and that there are 'severe fire conditions'. I talk about the importance of (when being in a remote area) having some sort of access to information about the 'outside world' in your area especially in regards to fire. I talk about being careful with fires during times of high wind and some of the things I do to mitigate the dangers of fire. I talk about the potential of smoke from fires settling into an area and the dangers of it. I also talk about other dangers of being out in nature (and the woods) and how it is important to always look up and notice what is around you.

I talk some about how in regards to the videos I should put some of my 'personal stuff' aside and really try to capture the importance of the things I am doing.

I talk about using the tarps to smash down the vegetation and also how they can be seen from very far away and how they are good indicators to people that someone is occupying the property.

As always this is just a summary of the video's content and not meant to explain everything that I cover in the video.

My D.Tube Channel:

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63688.35
ETH 3125.30
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.97