SHELTER NO. 9. A shelter for my baby potatoes,onions and rhubarbs ofcourse they also need a better shelter for a better harvest

in #homesteading7 years ago (edited)

Hello steemians! Again..So it started back in August, I got my seed potatoes for the year (first earlies + main crop) and put them into egg boxes.
I let the chitting begin and it was only a few weeks when they where starting to sprout new shoots.
New potatoes go in the ground on or around the 1st September after the risk of typhoon.
But the weather this week has been 2 seasons in one day(very hot and rainy), so I prepared the ground where I was putting them in to rows.
I heard that you should line the trench with shredded newspaper. I did not do this last year, so what I have done this year is line one trench and not the other so i can compare them.
I Laid the seed potatoes in intervals making sure the "chits" are pointing upwards and refilled the trench.

FB_IMG_1508317101960.jpg

FB_IMG_1508317111798.jpg

FB_IMG_1508317124218.jpg

FB_IMG_1508317127106.jpg

I was just about to pack up for the day when I thought I should take a look at the Rhubarb that I started forcing back in June.
Take a look at the pics to see what I uncovered.
Forcing Rhubarb by covering the crown of the plant will encourage it to produce shoots earlier than normal.

FB_IMG_1508317141991.jpg

FB_IMG_1508317139229.jpg

I also got the Onions in. I have been working over the soil for the last few weeks so all I had to do was give it a good
rake and lay out the sets ready to plant. You can push them in but I like to use a dabber and just drop them in.
A few of my onions got rot last year they got too wet, so i'll be keeping an eye out for this, this year.

FB_IMG_1508317121369.jpg

The next thing to go in were the peas, I made shallow drills and sowed the seeds in two staggered rows.
I then covered them with some compost, watered and covered them with netting to keep the birds and mice from getting at them.
This year i have planted Kelvedon Wonder and I will be using the cordon method as always.

FB_IMG_1508317130059.jpg

FB_IMG_1508317136155.jpg

FB_IMG_1508317133037.jpg

There's always a produce on perseverance. So keep what you like and it will worth the keep.

follow @janver06..

Sort:  

This post recieved an upvote from minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

    To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
    To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

@minnowpond1 has voted on behalf of @minnowpond. If you would like to recieve upvotes from minnowponds team on all your posts, simply FOLLOW @minnowpond.

        To receive an upvote send 0.25 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an reSteem send 0.75 SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo
        To receive an upvote and a reSteem send 1.00SBD to @minnowpond with your posts url as the memo

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 59036.72
ETH 2970.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73