My Meat Rabbits Successfully Bred!

in #homesteading6 years ago

My first attempt at breeding my pair of meat rabbits was successful yesterday morning!

My buck, who is a New Zealand White/Flemish Giant had 3 "fall offs" (see video) when bred to my Standard Rex doe.

She was a first time breeder and only 8 months of age (it's recommended to start breeding does between 6 and 8 months), so it took her a few days to "warm up" to Mr. Buck.

I ended up putting her in his cage (always bring your doe to the buck, NEVER the opposite) every morning and evening for 3 days straight, she wasn't having it any of those times. yesterday was different, she took to him right away!

Rabbits do not go into heat, they get stimulated to breed by the act of mating itself; weird, I know.

This was very exciting! We should have the litter born right around Christmas and the young will be ready for butcher 8-9 weeks after. This is going to provide me and my family with around 30 lbs of delicious rabbit meat (high in protein and low in cholesterol). As with everything else I do, I will be utilizing just about everything from each rabbit, nothing goes to waste.

Follow me on Steemit and subscribe to my YouTube channel to stay up to date on all of the goings on here at the our "urban homestead"!

All the best,
-Johnny G

Sort:  

Wow I thought Rabbits went into heat like Cat etc. I really never had rabbits. Thanks for sharing your knowledge.

I love keeping rabbits. They are a must (in my opinion) for any homestead. The benefits they provide, for relatively little care, is amazing! Thanks for commenting!

Congratulations @jghomestead, this post is the second most rewarded post (based on pending payouts) in the last 12 hours written by a Dust account holder (accounts that hold between 0 and 0.01 Mega Vests). The total number of posts by Dust account holders during this period was 4249 and the total pending payments to posts in this category was $694.65. To see the full list of highest paid posts across all accounts categories, click here.

If you do not wish to receive these messages in future, please reply stop to this comment.

I love that you love your rabbits so flamingly passionately, Johnny. Please blog on the details of raising a pen (?), I'll be glad to learn from you. Following you. Of course I'll want to share in the protein ;-)

I will write an in depth blog on raising rabbits for meat very soon, stay tuned! Thanks for your kind words, they mean a lot!

Awesome post friend.
I like your all content because your content type and quality is so good.
best of luck go ahead friend.

Thank you very much!

Awesome post friend.
really super & mind touch post and pic like it.
I like your all content because your content type and quality is so good.
best of luck go ahead friend.vote,cmmnt back

Thank you for the kind words! I greatly appreciate it!

I love keeping rabbits i used to own a rabbitry in Washington state. Now that im on a homestead, rabbits will be necessary. They provide one of the best fertilizers that you can put directly on your plants and are an excellent meat source!

Very true! I ALWAYS use the rabbit droppings in my garden!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63852.87
ETH 3135.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.83