You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Homesteading with History: Skill Collecting as Cultural Reconnection

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I am with you, culture needs to be practised. Ones I have been in a big etnographic museum where I came to realize that nowadays we hardly use our hands. Such a diversity of skills, all more or less gone! However there is a kind of comeback when those old crafts are taught in courses and via internet as a pastime.
What about our new skills like fixing bikes or computers, dealing with cryptos or dating via social media? What kind of culture will people in future remember worth to be carried on?

Sort:  

It is interesting to think of skills along the time continuum isn't it. I think my greatest interest is in skills that can be used to shelter, feed and clothe. I find the pendulum swinging back to the traditional skills as quite exciting. It might be a fad...but it's one that could help keep people healthy and alive in various potential futures. I am going to think more about the timeline continuum idea...That might make a great infographic and post :)

Thanks for your reply. Firstly I am always confused by comment voting. How much I have to vote that my vote egals yours, and then I can't correct it. How to judge a comment at all? Sorry all that interrupts the flow of our conversation. But we have to deal with it.
Deep in my soul I am with you and my somehow romantic feeling is longing backwards to a kind agrarian more holistic world. On the other hand we also use happily the new technology and have to go forward. About 100 years ago people came back to the land, we got reformer, vegetarians, nudists... but we then also got radio, cars and nuclear power.
I am looking forward to your timeline infographic :-)

What is it that you are confused about? About upvoting of comments? Rewarding interactions? I'm not too sure what you are seeking information on.

Nothing special. I would prefer voting for articles, pictures... but nothing for comments. But that is my thing, don't worry. Have a beautiful day!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.12
JST 0.029
BTC 67756.95
ETH 3539.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.14