Dandelion salve


They were everywhere so I might as well use them.
When I first started my new venture back in 2015 I had decided I was going to become more self reliant. I wanted to cook from scratch, and use natural remedies for my family and their health. Honestly I failed, it was too easy to go to the store to buy everything I wanted. But I made a decision that this is now a new place, a new life. So the first thing I decided to make was dandelion salve.
When I moved into my new house everywhere I looked was fields of those pesky yellow flowers or should I say weeds. Instead of destroying them I decided to look up ways of using them. Dandelions have many health benefacts that many people do not know. Dandelions have been used in traditional medicine for years all over the world. They are used to treat a myriad of physical ailments, including cancer, acne, liver disease and digestive disorders. It also has pain relieving and anti-inflammatory properties, so this salve is good for all kinds of sore and tired muscles and joints. Dandelion salve is also soothing and moisturizing for dry, cracked, and itchy skin. It would also work well as a lip balm for chapped lips. So with that being said I started on my first natural venture.
Dandelion Salve
Infused Oil for Dandelion Salve
The first step in making dandelion salve is to make dandelion infused oil. After you collect your dandelion flowers, its good to dry them for a day or two to remove the excess moisture. You can do this on a cookie sheet.
After your dandelions have dried a bit, put them into a jar and cover them with oil. The size of the jar depends on how much oil you want to make. A pint jar should yield about a cup of oil after straining. which is the amount you need for this recipe. I wanted more oil than that so I filled two quarts and got 4 cups. I wanted to make for myself and my family.

The kind of oil that you use is up to you. I used half olive oil and half coconut oil. Let your dandelion oil sit in a dark place for a week or two. I did a week and a half. Do not let sit too long as it can spoil pretty quickly. Strain out the flowers using a cheesecloth so that you can really squeeze all of the dandelion goodness out. You will end up with a lovely golden oil!
In a double boiler put the dandelion oil and 1 ounce of beeswax per cup of oil into pot and melt until beeswax completely dissolves, stirring occasionally.
Add the Shea butter 1 ounce per cup of oil until it dissolves completely
Stir in the essential oils
Carefully pour the mixture into small jars or tins and let sit until the salve sets up completely

Extremely easy just takes a little time. I bought the beeswax and Shea butter from amazon. It came in a big block so i needed to cut it into individual pieces each weighing an ounce. There was 16 ounces in each block which was a pound .
Once this was completed it was an amazing salve. I love it and am glad that I decided to start my new life creating natural and healthy products for my family. I hope you enjoy it as much as I do.

Sort:  

You've been visited by @minismallholding from Homesteaders Co-op.

I love to see weeds become food and medicine. For me dandelions have always been rabbit treats, but I trying to learn more about using them ourselves.


Homesteaders Co-op

A community marketplace of ethical, handmade and sustainable products available for STEEM, SBD (and USD): https://homesteaderscoop.com

follow: @homesteaderscoop

@porters will come by with the Natural Medicine account to upvote and resteem this one.. its a GREAT post.

Posted using Partiko Android

hi @jolly-homstead, .. nice post. a bit of rain and then sunshine these end up all over the garden so great to see they are made use off, .. iv heard of the benefits also hopefully not a daft question but how do you use it ? … eat it ? … so how much or maybe use as moisturiser, hopefully it wont turn my lovely green skin into a smooth sun kissed Mediterranean look, … wont be a goblin anymore see. :-)

You’ve been visited by @porters on behalf of Natural Medicine!

So happy that you've decided to make that new start to being more self sufficient and what a wonderful way to start than with the abundant dandelions! Thanks so much for sharing the benefits and the making of your wonderful salve! Perhaps you would like to share another of your stories in the Natural Medicine "Food as Medicine" challenge - find the info on the challenge below...

This fortnight, we're having a food as medicine challenge, sponsored by Curie! You can win over 40 Steem in prizes. Check out the details by clicking here!

NM GIF JUNE 2019.gif
Consider supporting Natural Medicine through continued use of the #naturalmedicine tag, or delegating any amount through clicking below. We're all for empowerment through natural wisdoms, and love to support those on their healing journey. Come join us on Discord if you're not already there! We'd love to have you! 50SPII50SPII100SPII200II500SP

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62795.05
ETH 2941.10
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55