Fried Egg Sweet Potato Breakfast Skillet

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

I am on the sweet potato roll this week (because I have had these sweet potatoes for some time now and I don't want them to go to waste, ha!).

Today I have a super easy - no fuss breakfast recipe that is not only healthy and super good for you but it also tastes pretty darn good as well!

KMP_7337.jpg

I have a love/hate relationship with eggs. I know that for some people, they could eat eggs every single day. But for me? I just can't. I might be able to go a week straight with eating eggs for my breakfast but then after that week, I will take some sort of hiatus from the eggs and move on to something else.

But if I could make a breakfast dish similar to this morning, which includes egg... I would probably eat eggs more often.

It would be a #winwin for sure!

KMP_7346.jpg

So my goal for this blog in terms of the recipes that I post is to share with you the things that I cook using fresh ingredients. Whether it be what we grow right here on the homestead or fresh ingredients that I purchase at the store.

Either way, my intent is to stay away from boxed/processed goods that have an ingredients list that is typically worded in some otherworldly language that leaves us wondering, "what the heck is that!?".

So with that said, let me share with you my super-scrumptious, super-simple, no-fuss breakfast!

Side Note - You might notice that my egg isn't runny. This little recipe will pair well with however you like your egg cooked. I personally do not like runny eggs. I know... I am probably the only person on the planet that doesn't like runny eggs but alas, I must cook my egg all the way through. But you don't have to! So when it gets to the egg part of the recipe, you fry that thing to your heart's desire and enjoy!

KMP_7340.jpg

Fried Egg Sweet Potato Breakfast Skillet

Servings: 1

Ingredients

2 tsp of Ghee
2 tsp Olive Oil
1/2 of a Sweet Potato (diced)
1/8 tsp Pepper
1/2 tsp Garlic Powder
1/2 cup Organic Vegetable Broth (or your own homemade version)
1 egg
1 Fresh Tomato Slice

Garnish

Parsley & Cracked Pepper

Directions

  1. Take 1/2 of a sweet potato and chop it up into bite-sized pieces. Put those chunks in a bowl and then add the 1/8 teaspoon of Pepper & 1/2 teaspoon of garlic powder and then give it a good mix until the sweet potato chunks are (somewhat) coated with the spices.

  2. Add 1 teaspoon of Ghee & 1 teaspoon of Olive Oil to a medium-sized skillet set over medium-high heat. Coat the pan with the Ghee and Olive Oil as it starts to heat up.

  3. Once your skillet is heated, add your sweet potato and saute for about 5 minutes. You want to give the outside of the sweet potato chunks a bit of crispy-ness (but not burnt or charred).

  4. Add 1/2 cup of the Organic Vegetable Broth and turn the heat down to medium-low and cook the sweet potatoes in the broth for about 2-3 minutes.

  5. Turn the heat back up to medium-high and cook some more until the vegetable broth has evaporated. About 5-6 minutes.

  6. Once the broth has evaporated, the sweet potatoes might seem a bit soggy because of the broth they soaked up but don't worry! Continue to cook them for another 1-2 minutes. Doing this will "dry up" some of that broth and will leave them soft and full of flavor. Once cooked, transfer to a plate and set aside.

  7. Add the remaining 1 teaspoon of Ghee & 1 teaspoon of Olive Oil to the skillet. Coat the skillet and scrape up any bits along the way (keeping the food bits in the skillet). Add your egg and fry the egg until your desired liking. This is the perfect time to add any spices you might want, to your egg (as it cooks). I personally like cracked pepper cooked in with my egg.

  8. While the egg finishes cooking, slice a piece of tomato and place it on top of your sweet potatoes. Once the egg is finished, transfer to the top of the sweet potatoes and tomato slice.

  9. Garnish with fresh Parsley (and a bit more pepper if you're feeling adventurous) and enjoy!

KMP_7336.jpg

Sort:  

Healthy.good source of protein.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70130.51
ETH 3786.12
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.78