Essentials for an achy back + salve recipe

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

For anyone who has ever had issues with their back, you know just how annoying and painful and debilitating it can be. From the moment you hear that "pop" or feel that instant shock of zinging pain. You know it's all downhill from there and that you'll be out for the count for however long it takes your back to finally allow you to start moving (and feeling normal) again.

I first threw my back out 5yrs ago. I was pregnant with my daughter and was sitting on the couch whilst putting my shoes on. I lifted my leg up on my knee to tie my shoes, as I always did and that's when I felt it. As I shifted myself to actually tie my shoe, I felt that stabbing, sharp, jolt of pain up my spine. At first, I didn't know what the heck it was because I had never had any back issues prior to this. But the moment I stood up, I knew something was seriously wrong because I couldn't stand all the way up. I was in a very awkward, hunched position and no matter how hard I tried to "straighten" myself out, the pain was there and I just could not physically move. It was as if my back had completely seized up and there was nothing I could do about it.

Of course, at this point, I knew I had entered the "bad back" crowd. I made an appt. with the chiropractor on the advice of everyone I knew. They took x-rays and told me that I had a lateral tear in my tendon/muscle that connects to my spine.

Ouch! I believed it.

They did some back adjustments and then recommended I get a massage to help "loosen" everything up. So I did as they recommended and let me just say. That is the first and LAST time I have ever stepped foot, back into a chiropractors office.

Since then I have thrown my back out 4 more times (they did say that once you do it, it will likely happen again as the scar tissue could possibly re-injure with sudden movements).

So why am I writing this post on this day while everyone else is typically posting about reflections and new years resolutions? Because a few days ago... IT HAPPENED AGAIN. I upped my treatment plan this time and it has helped leaps and bounds and I figured that now that I am able to actually sit down for a short period of time, why not let my readers know what I do for a hurt back. Cause you never know when it could happen. One minute your feeling good, doing cartwheels and backflips (okay, maybe not quite that good) and the next you reached down to pick something up off the floor and you can't stand back up!

Ugh, it's horrible.

But here is my list of essentials and tips to get you through it, if ever the day comes and you find yourself hobbling in pain.

KMP_6880.jpg

My top essentials for a hurt back

  • Essential Oils (my favorite is Peppermint)
  • CBD Oil (I use this amazing oil for pain management)
  • Cayenne Pepper Salve (recipe will be at the bottom of this post)
  • Ice Packs
  • Books, phone, tablet (because you will be laying down for some periods of time so that your back can heal)

KMP_6885.jpg

Peppermint Oil

I love this oil whenever I know I have some sort of injury that causes inflammation. Because peppermint oil is an analgesic (pain reliever) and has anti-inflammatory and anti-spasmodic properties. It is an amazing oil to use when you hurt your back. I use mine in a hot bath and just add the oil to the bath water as it's running. Not only does it smell wintery and fresh, but it will provide some much needed soothing relief to the area of your body that is in pain and swollen.

KMP_6884.jpg

CBD Oil

I know CBD oil and the plant that it comes from can still cause a bit of debate among people but if you already don't know the amazing properties that it can provide (100% natural) then you are seriously missing out! I buy my oil from Green Roads which is located in my state. I use it for not only anxiety but pain management as well (headaches, etc). CBD oil lasts for a few hours and you can take it as needed. The oil that I buy doesn't have any THC in it so you won't be getting that "high" feeling... or the munchies ...

KMP_6889.jpg

Cayenne Pepper Salve

(recipe at the bottom of this post)

We don't use icy-hot or any of the other similar heat/cold creams that are out there on the shelves. I hate the smell of them (they smell too much like a doctors office for my liking) and I don't like the heat they give off because it feels like it's just too much. I have been making my own salve now in replace of those heat creams and I use it all the time. It's not really hot but it provides a bit of warmth. Just enough to feel it and just enough to soak down into those sore muscles. I also add a few drops of peppermint oil (because of my reasons above) and it does just the trick!

KMP_6892.jpg

Reading Material

You're going to be bored because you will be doing a lot of laying around the first day and maybe even the second day.. Having some reading material on hand will not only help pass the time but it will also give you the chance to read up on some things that you might have been wanting to learn about. Since we are only heading into our 2nd year of homesteading, my choice of reading was some homesteading books that I have on my kindle. Aside from my books, I also keep my phone on hand because I am currently addicted to a stupid gems game... so... [sorry, not sorry!].

KMP_6895.jpg

Ice Packs

These are definitely essential for when you have a hurt back (or any sore muscle for that matter). Anytime you come into some ice packs. Keep them! When you're laying down, put that ice pack on the effected area and keep it there until the coolness wears off. Once it does, pop them back in the freezer and then repeat. You will want to keep the effected area iced when you are not taking a hot bath.

KMP_6896.jpg

Comfy Spot with all of your essentials

Last but not least: The spot where you will be spending the majority of time after your injury. Whenever I first throw out my back, I always, always lay flat on the floor, on my stomach (with my ice pack). I will lay like this for a couple of hours and then from there, I will transfer to the bed and continue laying on my stomach. When it comes to the point that you want to change positions, keep a pillow on hand to put between your legs (knees) when laying on your side.

DON'T

  • Try to push through the pain. You will only make the injury worse
  • Exercise or do anything strenuous
  • Sit in any chairs or sit in the [sitting] position. This will put weight/stress on the injury and when you try to stand back up, your back will feel super tight and painful
  • Lay on your back (you will find out just how hard and almost impossible it is to get up from the laying on your back position... Hint: it's not fun, at all)
  • Even when you start feeling better, don't go and overdue it with all the things you wanted to do or missed out on while you were healing. Even though the pain might be gone, it could still take quite a few weeks before it is fully healed. So in the meantime, gradually do things vs doing them all at once because you think you feel better

DO

  • Lay flat on your stomach, on the floor, for at least the first couple of hours after injury
  • Alternate between laying down and walking
  • Alternate between heat & cold (hot baths with oils and ice packs when resting)
  • Drink plenty of water!! (hydration is key and super important for cleansing your body and muscles)
  • After a day or two, try to walk around more.. Gradually walk more than you are laying. Till the point you feel little to no pain and then from there, continue to take it easy and gradually add in more physically demanding things
  • TAKE IT EASY!

CAYENNE PEPPER SALVE RECIPE

Ingredients

1/4 Cup olive oil
1 Tbsp Cayenne Pepper
1 1.5 Tbsp Coconut Oil
1 Tsp Beeswax
3-5 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil

Materials

Cheesecloth
Double Broiler

  1. In a double broiler, heat the cayenne pepper and olive oil over low heat for one hour.

  2. After the pepper and oil have infused. Strain the mixture through a cheesecloth (you can strain into another small bowl or a cup. Anything to hold it for the time being).

  3. Once the mixture is strained, set aside and wash out your bowl that you used to double broil the oil and pepper. Place the double broiler back on the stove and set the heat to medium. You want the water in the pot to mildly boil.

  4. Once you have a mild boil going over on your double broiler. Add the pepper & oil mixture, the coconut oil, and the beeswax. Mix until everything is melted together and smooth.

  5. Add about 3-5 drops of Peppermint Essential Oil and continue mixing until well combined.

  6. Remove from heat and pour into a small container or jar (2-4oz tins works great for this recipe).

  7. Let it set before putting the lid on.

  8. Use as needed!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 70434.55
ETH 3761.18
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.84