Rebel Canning at home

in #homesteading6 years ago

Canned DRY Tortellini in V8 Juice - 5 Pints
Canned DRY Ravioletti in Spicy Hot V8 - 5 pints
I have never done this before. I just found posts concerning canning tortellini and ravioletti by using the group search function on this page. I will probably sample them in the near future but have not done so at the time of this posting.

Tortellini and Ravioletti were done the same way.
Used DRY NEVER COOKED RIGHT OUT OF THE BOX WITHOUT ADDING ANY WATER OR COOKING IT IN ANY WAY Premade store bought DaVinci Brand 7.0 ounces boxes of dry uncooked product.

Each box of DRY dehydrated pasta gave me 5 - 1/3 cup portions of uncooked dry pasta.. I evenly distributed the dry pasta into pint jars. This gave me 5 pint jars each with 1/3 cup of dry tortellini in them and 5 pint jars each with 1/3 cup of dry ravioletti in them.

To each jar of DRY pasta I added V8 to almost the lower rim (about one and a quarter inch down from the very tippy top of the jars) I did this by eyeballing each jar and trying my best to get the 64 fluid ounce bottles of V8 even distributed into the five jars. Five jars for 64 oz V8 and five jars for 64 oz Spicy Hot V8. I do not know why my brain decided to put original with tortellini and Spicy Hot with Ravioletti. Deal with it. We are Rebels, use your imagination and do what works for you.

I then stirred the jars and added just enough water to bring them to 1" headspace. I do not know how much water that was per jar but it was somewhere in the vicinity of 1 or 2 tablespoons.

I then put lids on the jars and put them in my pressure cooker with approximately room temperature water as I had not heated nor had I chilled anything prior to putting it in the jars.

I then proceeded to process using standard pressure canner methods for 15 minutes at the pressure for my elevation. I will not tell you what pressure should be because it is based on the elevation above or below sea level at which you reside. Canning recipes should not give this information in the recipe.

When the full process was complete I removed the lid and took out the jars giving each a gentle shake with the jar lifter tool. After they pinged, I gave them each another shake.

This could be water bathed and from what I am reading from other's experiences it is 60 minutes and they all claim the pasta does not get mushy. I do not know this firsthand.

IMG_0879.JPG

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 62737.73
ETH 2925.66
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.50