New Hog Pens

in #homesteading5 years ago (edited)

I tried to post pictures on my actifit post last night but out where I live uploading pics on a cell phone doesn't always work well. This is the area I am running fence now. It is your standard southern shrubs and yaupon holly with a few large trees here and there.

20190408_180213.jpg

20190408_180221.jpg

I have been lucky so far and been able to line up my corner post and fence lines without running into large trees to remove. This is always a plus since not only cutting down the tree is a side job but also removing it from the area, digging up the stumps and leveling the ground end up being a big job since everything is done by hand.

These are going to be 300 ft long and 30 ft wide pens for my hogs. I will run one male and up to three females in these pens and rotate them weekly. I will be putting in five of these new pens. They will be all field fencing with two lines of 12 g high tensile electric ran on the inside to keep them from pushing on the fence. I will be putting in a 4 ft wide run in the front of the pens so we can run then from one pen to the next with ease or to load into the trailer. It will be similar to how I did my goat pens in the front this last winter. They have pens on both sides of the alley here but it makes it so much easier to just walk them from one to the next but with the hogs it will be another completely enclosed run area.

20190406_171843.jpg

I can't get my pictures to rotate the way they were taken. I remember I had this problem before but I can't remember what I did to fix it if anyone has any advice on why my photos are all rotating when I'm uploading them. Thanks a lot.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63900.40
ETH 3140.82
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.98