You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: Looking for advice to improve our garden soil!

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

We have sand for our ground where I am and I mean the same kind of sand you buy a lowes as play sand. We fenced it and added hogs for a few seasons and they will get ride of everything in the area only leaving the dirt and also add lots of organic matter back into the soil which lets it hold moisture and allows microbes and fungi to grow. This has turned our sand into nice rich dark soil. Now I just spray worm tea onto it and top dress with any left over compost or castings that we use from my brews. You can add mostly any organic matter to the ground to help improve it but you want to be careful about what type if you are going to be planting in it right after it has been added. Organic matter will also attract any local worms that will aerate and leave castings behind to help also. Carbon like shredded paper waste or leaves will attract fungi also that will also improve. Looks like you have a little bit of work to do but you are already starting with better soil then many people so don't get discouraged. A good cover crop will help when you are not growing also like clover or even beans that will add nitrogen back into the soil for the next crop. Best of luck with what you decide. Will be following you now just to see updates on how everything works.

Sort:  

Thanks, I'll follow you as well. I have a small worm factory in the house I do some composting in, I'll get them added as well, but can't imagine it will do much in the huge area, otherwise I did plan on the leaves and heavy manure in the fall.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 57741.16
ETH 2947.53
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69