The Why Of The Camp Cabin

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

So why build an 8'x8' cabin?

People look at this project and see a shed, and not a very fancy one at that! I think even my family thinks I'm a bit crazy. And perhaps I am:^)

However, when I look at this project I see a beginning of preparing this land to live on it! I see a warm place to sleep, a place to relax, a place to rest from this horribly fast-paced world! I see a place to hunt, fish, and garden!

Even more than those things, I see this cabin finished in my mind's eye, with golden varnished floors, and walls filled with insulation. I see it with a hand built, folding couch with a hand made mattress, with thick blue and pink flowered fabric, that I have already purchased.

I see the wooden sink, tiled, and a folding cutting board. I see the little wood stove that I have already purchased, and the accordion towel drying rack hanging next to it. I see the shelves, the decorations, and all of the matching dishes that will outfit it. I also see the blanket box that will double as a coffee table.

Yes, 8'x8' is enough space for that, and whole lot more. Keep reading, and you will see what happens when 8' square, becomes a peaceful slice of earthly paradise!

IMG_20181010_163457983.jpg

Sort:  

Love the cabin. Dreams do come true if you put your ideas into motion. Love cozy!

Yes, It's just a matter of pursuing! We put ourselves in our own boxes in this life! The boxes say "I can't!"! Dreams come true when you tear down your, "I can't!" boxes!

Thank you! I like it! I can't wait to finish! Wish it would slow down on the raining!

It's a great little cabin, you're not crazy! I can see all those things you can see in there. And building a homestead from the ground up is beautiful work.

Thank you! It IS beautiful work! And exciting! It's been so much fun! And more is coming!!!

You're welcome, I lile hearing about other people doing this kind of work!

Hopefully I can start building some natural buildings next year... this year was all about growing a little food and figuring out how to live without running water or electricity hook up!

Looks well built but you may need to cover that particle board from moisture.

Working on it! See previous posts! Thanks!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60906.91
ETH 2920.56
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.69