How To Dress in TickLand - Homestead Fashion

in #homesteading6 years ago

tickgear.pngNo matter how hot it is, we wear long sleeves, pants and boots. Gave them hat but they took it off.

This is going to be a tie-in story with my son's post @futurefarmers.

Our neighbor was talking to my husband about the possibility of getting a trail cut from our woods to his place. Currently, he's having to go through a lot of brushes and tree limbs after spending the night close to the pond and watching for the wildlife in our woods.

Well, that's pretty dangerous so my husband agreed and he came by with his sons and tractor ready to get a trail cut from our woods to his place.


To DEET or Not To DEET

I only use DEET on our boots when we go out to work, traipsing in the yard or woods.


It's up to you if you want to use DEET on your skin. I'm skipping it.

It's tickland here where we are. The deer population is going up and they visit us very often. Mama deer is currently pregnant. She's huge as a horse and we're suspecting she's going to have twins again.

She's had twins every year for the 7 years we've lived here. Yes, we see her and her twins every year.... OFTEN

That's her with a buck. It was taken a few months ago. When I get a hold of our neighbor, I'll ask for her giant picture.

deer.png

Permethrin

@iamstan did all the researching until he found a better way to fight getting chigger and tick bites. The downside is we need to wear long sleeves, long pants, socks and boots and hats. Cover as much skin as we can.

tickoff.png

That's what we've been spraying on our tick gear. If you want to look into it, check out $averPak JT Eaton for clothing and gear treatment.

Here's how to prep your gear

  1. Hubby puts a good solid coat on the clothes with permethrin spray
  2. Let the clothes dry
  3. Wear them when we go out
  4. This treatment can last for 6 washing or 6 weeks, so re-spray your gear at this time.

It's very effective, we hardly ever get ticks anymore when we go outside as long as we're covered well and wearing our tick gear.

Now we only get ticks when we go outside and DON'T have our tick gear on.


I don't know about you, but I'd rather be sweating than be eaten by chiggers and ticks.

Here's a blood sucking tick. [pause and think now...] YEAH, I'd rather be sweating than have this feasting on me.


from my son's post, I edited it, I get to use it too

Disclaimer: I'm not a medical practitioner. Think for yourself.

Sort:  

I hadn't thought of using DEET on the boots - that's a great idea!

I did pick up a trick a couple of years ago that worked really well on my dog when she picked up some ticks. Teething gel - the kind that numbs - rub it on the ticks to make them let go, then it's easier to get them off.

We don't have teething gel. So maybe next time I'd try ice cubes. Grr nasty ticks

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64222.08
ETH 3135.29
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.99