Not My Regular Loaf + Summer Booch

in #homesteading6 years ago



This is one day's worth of kitchen duties + being a wife, mom and working mom

Some days I take my time and enjoy slow days. But this day is not one of those days...I loaded my day with mama goodness instead of taking the day easy.

For this particular day I decided my sourdough starter needs to eat again so I fed it.

Yeah, yeah. I talked about Keto diet before but I have plenty of flour to use. Besides, it's sourdough bread and it's organic.

image.png
Uhm, yes again. I started feeding it that time. Ideally, you start early in the morning so you don't end up staying late at night.

Oh, I haven't had a batch in a while...

And while I'm at it, let's ferment another batch of summer fizz kombucha.

image.png

  • gallon of black tea made
  • previous booch liquid and SCOBY in
  • now covering it and waiting for fizz time
    see you later, alligator

Back to baking

After that, it's time to get ready for some gooey play dough.

Mixed it all together and waited 30 minutes before kneading

  • 150g of fed starter
  • 400g of flour
  • 200g of water
  • 25g of olive oil
  • 10g of salt

I decided to skip the loaf pan and just let it rise in it's sourdough glory.

And since I didn't watch the time before feeding the starter, I ended up letting the dough bread slowly ferment for a total of 10 hours.

I woke up and remembered I have a bread rising somewhere!

Got the oven ready, popped the now sourdoughy-smell dough and waited for the timer...

Screenshot from 2018-08-29 20-48-40.png

At this point, my husband is leery of that bread. Rising for 10 hours and out of the oven it looks ornery.

I was having second thought about it too... until I got it cool enough to get a slice and buttered goodness.

bread.png

Sort:  

I know someone that once made delicious Kombucha. 🎃
Do you like pumpkin bread?

I just made another batch today. You should make it since it's easy.

Pumpkin bread - I haven't tried it. Does it taste like pumpkin? hahaha

I think I'm a little too busy pumpkining to start a Kombucha brew at the moment.
Yeah, like dense pumpkin pie and carrot bread at the same time. I've also seen cupcake type things that have a blotch of sweet pumpkin guts on top... yum. (mexican markets)

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-08-30T02:07:03
Account Level: 0
Total XP: 40.00/100.00
Total Photos: 6
Total comments: 1
Total contest wins: 0
When you reach level 1 you will start receiving up to two daily upvotes

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

LOL. That's exactly how I handle specialized diets...yeah, yeah, well...

That tasty! regards

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 65122.70
ETH 2948.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.66