You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: SteemIt Community Garden Journal Challenge - My Update For June 2018

in #homesteading6 years ago

I love seeing the pictures of your gardens! This was my first year for potatoes, too...and I , too, used the grow bags. Almost harvest time for those little spuds, and I'm anxious to see what kind of yield I got. How about you?

Sort:  

Same here. i’ll I remember is that I got some blue ones. I hadn’t seen
Those before, so I had to have them,
Do the green have completely died of when you czan start harvesting?

If you want potatoes that will store well, wait til the tops of the vines have died before you start harvesting. If you want early potatoes, gently dig down and take only what you need. Reset your plant and the potato should continue to grow. This is from my own experience. Hope it helps. I love growing potatoes. I have not try growing blue potatoes. Do you know what they taste like? Textures? Very curious. Please share what you find out later after you harvest.

Thanks for the tips.

I will share my experience, if I can finally dig up the blue ones.
I’m really curious to find out too... :0)

I grew purple potatoes one year wonder if that is the same. I will remember to follow along I am curious myself.

I'm honestly not sure. I did the pots in layers, letting the lowest taters send up shoots before setting in the next layrs...that left a good week and a half between plantings, so the flowersings are following the same schedule. I'm noticing the last (topmost) layer is just now budding, where the others have all flowered and are dying off. I'm kinda scared to open the hatch, I'm not sure if I trust that it's gonna hold tight once its seal has been broken. Have you peeked at yours? I know they say it's resealable and can be used repeatedly...but 'they' say lots of stuff! :D

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63010.40
ETH 3137.33
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.85