Do You Know This One?

in #homesteading6 years ago

1e9aef7c-de3a-4920-955f-e5caa3bb385d.jpeg


It is the time of the year when these beauties are getting ready.
The tree was on our property when we moved in. One day, I was in the back of the garden and looked on the ground and saw these strange looking things. I thought that it might be bugs!!
I did pick one up and kept looking and looking and looking at that thing. What could it be?
Finally, my brain kicked in and I realized that it must be Mulberries. Maybe they weren't ripe? Aren't Mulberries red?
Well, as it turns out, Mulberries come in red, black, green, purple, and....... white!!!
That is what that weird looking bug turned out to be. They have a mild flavor, are very sweet, and very perishable.
You have to pick and eat. Or freeze right away for later use in smoothies 😄


Steepshot_footer2.PNG Steepshot IPFS IOS Android Web
Sort:  

Haha I was scrolling quick and thought they were bugs too! Had to go back and look, I looove mulberries. My daughter does too! And one tree gives SO many

It really does!!! But last year, something (probably birds) stripped it clean! the white ones are very sweet. I like our black ones a lot - they can keep in the fridge for over a week. But they are all gone now.

I've never had white ones, hmmm.

whoa you are so lucky and i didnt know they look like gross alien beings with bugs surrounding it ... ho hum ... humans love bugs what can i say? waaahhhh

You love birds. You love bugs. You love bots. You must be made out of love 😂 ❤️

you know me only too well. hehe

Yes!!!

I think 😁

In Indonesia we call it arbei/murbai

Yes!!! I never had it as a kid and really had no idea what I am looking at. Now, I have black ones growing and I tasted a green one once that was 2 inches long and the most delicious thing I have ever eaten :)

My father used to grow them in pots when i was littl. The black ones. Wow its been years since i had any!

That is interesting that he grew them in pots. He must have been able to keep them small. good to know. I have one I don't want to get too big and I am chopping it back all the time. The chickens and my neighbor's tortoises love the leaves!!

I had no idea that mulberries came in white. Wow. If you have a purple or red tree too, maybe you could do a taste-test and let us know if they taste any different.

They do!! I have a black one and they are much fruitier than the white ones. The white ones are mostly sweet. My favorite is a long green one. I am hoping to get some scion wood next spring and craft it on my tree. So delicious. Looks like a huge caterpillar LOL

Not surprised to hear the black ones are fruitier... probably the same with red and purple. Just like wine and grapes.

yes!! the darker, the more flavor...

Better these white ones then the black that stain the bottoms of bare feet and track into the house!

Yes, that could be a problem. My black tree is in the chicken area. whatever falls down disappears right away - no time to get stuck on feet :)

To the question in your title, my Magic 8-Ball says:

My sources say no

Hi! I'm a bot, and this answer was posted automatically. Check this post out for more information.

heeheee i love you!

You have gotten a vote courtesy of @mariannewest!
They have enlisted the help of the @alliedforces!
We gladly answer your call!
(@alliedforces is a collaboration of witnesses @jatinhota & @enginewitty)
Have you supported your favorite witnesses?

Weird! i totally thought they were just unripe... I never knew

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.034
BTC 63475.77
ETH 3117.23
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.94