Bonding With Our New Baby Ducks

in #homesteading5 years ago

The other night I got to cuddle with our new baby ducks and I'm so happy. Bonding with a duckling isn't easy. Ducklings are naturally skittish. Humans are such big creatures to them and they easily run and try to escape. Little by little I'm going to try to bond with my new ducks so they won't be afraid of me.

I set up a make-shift "pen" using couch cushions on our couch as a place I could hang out with them more easily. I wanted to bring my face down to their level so I wasn't so high up and intimidating. I also just wanted to be comfy so we could have a long bonding session in a place they wouldn't get cold.

At first they stayed away

IMG_0262.jpg

The little ones were afraid of me and their new location at first. They cowered on the far side of the couch and tried to climb up the arm to get away from me. Thankfully, it was too high up. I kept quiet and when I did talk I spoke sweetly to them. Mostly, I left them alone at first and let them calm down. I put their food near them and eventually they ate a bit. I put some food in my hand and inched it towards them causing another freak out.I slowly moved my hand closer and closer and finally stopped short of where they were.

I stayed still and eventually the little male duck came for a snack. So far he seems to really enjoy treats and usually takes them from me. The two girls eventually joined in and ate from my hand.

Some food helped them relax

IMG_0238 2.JPG

My husband came in the room and as soon as they saw him on the other side of the couch, they ran the opposite way to where I was at. They let me pet them and at some point curled up together next to my chest with my arm around them to make a little nest.

Luring them closer and gaining their trust

IMG_E0247.jpg

The male is in the front and the two girls are behind him. I can tell him because he has yellow "eyeliner."

IMG_0250 2.jpg

They fell asleep after a while, enjoying being warm. It was so nice they felt safe enough to fall asleep curled up with me.

This batch of babies seems a lot less skittish than my four ducklings I got last year. I did get a Pekin, Khaki Campbell, and two Black Swedish last time. My Khaki Campbell and Pekin were super skittish when she was young and I think maybe they influenced the group. I had a harder time bonding with them as a group. My Black Swedish seemed the least skittish. The same seems true with my three new ducklings.

So far bonding is going well. They hate being picked up but they don't seem to mind me being nearby or eating from my hand. They are now a week old so soon I'll give them their first swim and maybe take them outside if we get the 80 degree weather the weatherman promised. When they hit 6 weeks if it's warm enough I'll move them outside into the big duck pen. I'll have to make them a separate fenced in area at first so they and the older ducks can slowly get use to one another.

Banner marx.jpg

Sort:  

Awwww... cute! I wonder how they'll get on with the older quackers.

For males, isn't it "guy liner?" lol

I forgot about guy liner! lol. I love that though. He's got some serious guy liner. I hope they'll get along. These three are super imprinted on one another. At least they'll be close. The older ducks are pretty chill now so hopefully it'll be fine.

Omg, I almost snort-laughed when I FINALLY got the "guy liner". too funny

these photos are great, thanks for sharing the process with us ✌ hope they stay safe!

The cycle of life continues!

O my word they are so cute.

Super cute duckies! Thanks for sharing these with us!

That is super cute! What is the band around the ankle on one of them for? (second pic)

I see they're still cute! The first time we got ducks we got two, and they were free range in the house most of the time. They bonded really well with us. They would sleep on my clothes in the bathroom when I was taking a shower, and sit on my feet when I was cooking. It was adorable. We've never been able to reproduce that kind of sweetness. I don't know if it's because we only had two the first time.

I'm glad you're making progress with your little fluffballs! I hope you post more pictures as they get bigger.

@marxrab You have received a 100% upvote from @botreporter because this post did not use any bidbots and you have not used bidbots in the last 30 days!

Upvoting this comment will help keep this service running.

Aww they are so cute and how to cool to read how you slowly bonded with them :)

Congratulations @marxrab! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You made more than 51000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 52000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 64038.31
ETH 3137.77
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86