My Oso Easy Italian Ice Roses

in #homesteading5 years ago

This is the third year I'm attempting to grow roses and I'm hoping they don't die like all the others. My first year of growing roses I was pregnant and couldn't garden. That left my husband to take care of it but he would never dig me a hole to plant it in the yard so I left it potted in a small pot. The rose bush didn't make it through the winter so that was a big fail. My second year of roses I got a rose bush as a Mother's Day gift. I planted it in the yard and it grew all summer. Then, my husband ran it down with a lawn mower...fail #2.

This year I'm determined to get roses growing and thriving. Right now I have five different rose plants started. My husband isn't allowed anywhere near the plants. I have three I got for $3.99 at a closeout sale which could easily live or die. They didn't look great when I got them but $3.99 is a super great deal for a rose bush. The roses varieties are Elizabeth, Oklahoma, and another type I can't remember.

My other two roses came from Burpee.com. I got Lady of Shallot roses which are an orangish color and Oso Easy Italian Ice Roses.

My First Oso Easy Italian Ice Rose

IMG_0103.jpg

I saw these in an add on Burpee and I thought the colors were so pretty. The are a nice mixture of yellow and pink. From pictures some roses are more pink and some more yellow. I thought these would be beautiful to grow.

I'm pleasantly surprised at how well this plant is thriving. Shortly after receiving it in the mail and potting it, I started seeing new growth. Now I have my first flower with two more on the way. I'll enjoy these flowers for a little while before moving the rose bush into the yard in it's permanent spot.

No Photo Edits Here

IMG_0104.JPG

I didn't have to edit these pictures at all for them to look so pretty. The sunlight shining on the flowers was beautiful all on its own.

Early in the day the rose was opened wide, soaking up the sun...

IMG_0105.JPG

Later as the sun went behind the mountains the rose closed up...

IMG_0125.JPG

The center is bright yellow that slowly turns lighter and transitions into pink towards the tips of the petals. It's so neat to see the two colors blending together so nicely. It'll be interesting to see if the next flowers to appear have more pink than yellow. The plant should have a nice variety of blends.

IMG_0126.JPG

Oso Easy Roses come in lots of colors. From my research they were bred to be easy to grow and super hardy. They are suppose to bloom and grow like crazy. I mainly picked this plant for the colors but knowing now about Oso Easys I might look into more of them in the future.

The flowers alone are so pretty. I hope this rose bush makes it. I'm working hard to make sure it does and that it's protected from my husband's lawn mower. My goal is to have a rose garden look to our property someday. First, I'll start with some easy varieties and add more as the years go by.

Sort:  

Oh yikes. I would be devastated if my plant got shredded by the lawnmower. Maybe it wasn't in the best location to begin with for a yard that needs to be mowed. Really like these flowers you selected, especially with the pink tips on the rim. Makes it seem very rare.

I actually put it in a spot where I thought he'd never mow, on the other side of a wood log marking off a garden bed. It was fine all summer until he got the idea to mow there to plant vegetables. I really like this kind too. They are very unique looking. They'd be nice cut and put in a vase.

Congratulations! Your post has been selected as a daily Steemit truffle! It is listed on rank 23 of all contributions awarded today. You can find the TOP DAILY TRUFFLE PICKS HERE.

I upvoted your contribution because to my mind your post is at least 3 SBD worth and should receive 123 votes. It's now up to the lovely Steemit community to make this come true.

I am TrufflePig, an Artificial Intelligence Bot that helps minnows and content curators using Machine Learning. If you are curious how I select content, you can find an explanation here!

Have a nice day and sincerely yours,
trufflepig
TrufflePig

I've heard being mowed down can be harmful to rose bushes. Maybe this one deserves a fence!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63745.68
ETH 3137.71
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.86