Getting Ready For The BIG CAMPOUT - OUTHOUSE and SHOWER HOUSE

thumb.jpg

Every year we invite about 100 people to come out and camp on the property for a week of fun and learning on the off grid homestead. We have a very large field where people can set up their tents and it's just a short walk from a shower house and outhouse.

So I thought I would snap some quick photos and share with you all today.

This photo is the field where everyone sets up their tents. We have a main tent and a main campfire that people can gather around if they want. The white framing in the picture is the frame for the main tent that will be set up soon. As you can tell, the grass is pretty dry as we haven't had a good rain in over 2 months.

camping.jpg

Here is the shower house and out house along with some of our water storage containers.

shower1.jpg

A lot of the lumber used to build the shower house was recycled lumber and even lumber that we harvested and milled right on the homestead with our saw mill.
shower2.jpg

This is an up close photo of the shower house. You can see from the photo that the gutter empties into one of our storage tanks to the right. The house has three stalls for people to shower. Ladies are scheduled for its use during even hours and men odd hours.

shower3.jpg

Inside each stall is a pulley system that will lift up a shower bucket or camping shower bag. You can purchase these are most local outdoors and camping stores.

shower4.jpg

The back of the doors are equipped with a mirror, hooks for hanging clothes and a door lock.

shower5.jpg

The front of the shower house is decorated with some of our easter red cedar harvested and milled on the homestead. A nice bench allows family members to wait outside. Again, wood all harvested on the homestead.

shower6.jpg

Our water storage collects rainwater and has the ability to capture and hold over 1300 gallons of rain water. This water is mainly used for guests for showers or for filtering to be drinkable. The tanks are sealed where the gutter come in from the top to prevent mosquito larva from growing inside. They are also painted black to slow the growth of algae on the inside.

waterstorage.jpg

Here is our outhouse. It's built over a giant hole and has two stalls. The hole below is sealed and it has exhaust fans on the roof to expel gas and odor from below the building.

outhouse1.jpg

Here is the inside of the women's stall. Every year we make sure we clean any insects and cobwebs to keep the building presentable for our guests.

shower7.jpg

So that is our homestead shower stall and outhouse that we have built for guest use when folks visit. I hope you enjoyed the photos. If there is something you'd like to see in detail on the homestead, leave a comment below!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

Wowsers, you guys did a fabulous job making those, they look nice and have a simple, easy to use system that works for everyone. :D
How long did it take to complete each building and getting the plumbing/rain water tanks set up?
I love the bench across the front of the shower building. :D

Thank you for sharing this wonderful post. Have an awesome day! :D

I think each building took a few months to complete. The rain tanks were a work in progress. We keep adding to them.

Very cool. :D Where did you find the tanks? I mean online or a farm supply store or somewhere else? :D

You can usually find them pretty cheap on Craigslist.

I'll have to look. I've never actually been on Craigslist before...but I've heard there is something for everyone on there. :D

Wow, that'd be a lot of fun! Camping in the wilderness. Getting off the grid would be a perfect time to just unwind and explore the world outside the web. Very cool!!!

Thanks for watching! Stay tuned because I will be putting up some vids of all that next week!

would love to visit some day, perhaps sometime in the future you would consider me and my family, we love camping and we love Yeshua ;)MrEasyFix_bottom_thank_you.gif

Following!

Thanks and I'll do the same as I saw your comment above

I saw this on another post, not sure what exactly it does, but if it does something good I figured I would share it with you all.
you are suppose to mention @OriginalWorks and then magically the bot does something good for you or something like that, lol, we'll see

I must have done something wrong, lol

Shared to show some awesome pre preps for a fantastic get together!

Upvoted and also resteemed!

Thanks for watching!

Seems like a great adventure ! You should make a festival !

It kinda already is a festival. LOL!

LOL I am being so good and not shouting it out to the roof tops, I did share to twitter ;-)

I don't understand. Why not shout it? I'M CELEBRATING THE FEAST OF TABERNACLES! Is it supposed to be a secret?

Love it! Perfect camp out :)

We are going to have a great time and I will make sure to share vids of the campers.

Thanks! Look forward to seeing some more posts on your camping :)

The campers start arriving today!

Great! Hope you have a really enjoyable time. I am off for a hike and camp on Friday in the peak district UK with a few friends :)

Inside each stall is a pulley system that will lift up a shower bucket or camping shower bag.
Why didn't I think of THAT? That'd be a perfect system for my BOAT!

I love that color blue. LOL great post and good luck with your camp out.

Thanks! Follow your stuff regularly!

Thank you, as I do your stuff too.,

Such a great setup. I need a shower house or stall on my homestead. Right now it's just a washrag and a dish pan, haha. It's on the list though.

That will work for the time being. Rome wasn't built in a day. Keep us updated on your progress!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 63955.40
ETH 3139.68
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.87