The Homestead SAW MILL - New and NOW - Pictures and Video

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

sawmill.jpg

Not that long ago, someone special found my website and videos we've been making here on the homestead. He spent some time poking around the site and saw something that caught his eye. HIS SAWMILL!

I say it's his because he built the wood frame for the mill years back. The mill itself is in no way new. It dates back to the 1940s and still has the Search Roebuck Metal tag label on the carriage.

This man saw the mill and sent me an email via our website contact page. Then he sent me a few pictures of the mill when it was finished with the new wood frame. I must say he did a fantastic job and the frame today is still pretty stout. It has some rot in a few places and I have changed out some of the wood in spots but mostly the frame keeps the blade running straight.

Look how pretty this monster is? WOW!

saw1.jpg

He sent me 4 images of the mill with the brand new wood frame!

saw2.jpg

That is not the same blade as I have on the mill. It looks a bit bigger than the one I have. My blade is 42 inches and the mill can accommodate a blade up to 48 inches.

saw3.jpg

The black tube thing laying on the ground is the PTO (Power Take Off) that hooks up to a tractor. You need at least a 40 HP tractor to run this mill. Our 50HP Massey Ferguson handles the mill with no problem.

saw4.jpg

When we bought the mill, it was being used by another owner. He was going to upgrade to a very expensive band saw. But he got a good amount of years out of this mill. When we bought it, the mill was loaded on a very long trailer with a fork lift.

Winter is the time I'd rather be using this mill rather than in the summer, but I have yet to do anything this winter. I even have some cedar trees down waiting for me to cut them up on the mill but things have been so busy that I haven't had time. The wood we have cut previously has been used and is still being used for projects on the homestead. @hansjurgen has made some amazing projects with the white oak and cedar wood that was cut on this mill.

Surely there will be plenty more projects to come.

What did the saw mill look like in the catalog back in its day? Here you go!
sawroebuck.JPG

This is called the Fulton and ours is called the Foley M14 Belsaw. But they are very similar. I couldn't find a picture of our exact mill in a Sears Roebuck. If you have an old Sears Roebuck and find a picture of the M14 Foley, please send it to me!

Want to see our mill in action? Here you go!

So that is our saw mill. Hopefully I can get back on it soon and cut some more boards.

ENJOY THE VIDEO!


homestead.jpg
Visit Us Online: http://AnAmericanHomestead.com

JOIN US ON SOLA (TWITTER REPLACEMENT) FOR MORE HOMESTEAD CONTENT
sola.jpg
https://sola.ai/americanhomestead


homeSteem.pnggardenSteem.png

EVERYTHING IN THIS POST POWERED BY SOLAR !intro_panel_mini.png

Sort:  

Your mill is awesome. Those pics are really cool. History is always interesting great post

Great pictures they look like they could have been taken yesterday. It is great to have historical background on such things. Keep up the good work. Your homestead is the envy of the internet I am sure . Toby

I really enjoy stories like this. The world isn’t so big after all.

I bet you were surprised to hear from the previous owner!!!

It is nice to be able to mill your own wood for projects around the homestead. How long do you let it dry before you mill and then before you use it in a project?

there you go... think this is your model.

Belsaw28-.JPG

Belsaw Machinery made the M-14 model. Many of which were sold by the Sears & Roebuck Co. from the catalog.

Now that is fantastic that you are in contact with an original builder of the frame, makes you realize how small the world is!
Thank you for sharing it!

I have always wanted a saw mill. I recall the first time I saw a video that these 'portable' saw mills existed and dreamed of enough land to keep a sustainable forest going to mill your own wood for the structures on your own land. This looks like a pretty amazing one. Do you have enough acreage to use your own wood or do you get felled trees from others after clearing land?

What an amazingly small world this is! Thanks for sharing! I plan to get a mill one day, Ive only been doing this for about 6 months but that is a machine that would be invaluable!

It's so cool. The design looks impressive. Great work you have done.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 63096.57
ETH 2954.05
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.55