LETS TALK ABOUT THE SHEEP HOMESTEADING

in #homesteading6 years ago

    Let's talk about sheep. 

 Sheep have been a great source of 'farm education' for both my son and I.  I've laughed over sheep antics, and I've also cried real tears over the loss of a special lamb or ewe.  No other farm creature had touched my heart as deeply as sheep.  

Sheep are by far the most difficult farm animal I have ever encountered.

  They are prone to hoof issues, internal parasites, birthing issues, lambing issues, and predators.  They are high stung, and have high prey instincts.  While some become a little tame they never quite trust humans.  Sheep require more physical work- WRESTLING to be exact- than any other farm creature.  Rams can also be dangerous.  I've leaned the hard way to never take my eyes off a ram- ever.  They can hurt you fast- with horns especially, and even without!  I treat a ram with the same respect I'd give a 1,500 lb. bull!  I've been hit so hard by a ram that I limped for days!  

On the positive.  

Sheep provide delicious meat (lamb) in about 9 short months.  Lamb is different tasting.  It has a slightly strong taste, but if prepared correctly its tender and very delicious.  Most Americans are unfamiliar with lamb and rarely (if ever) eat lamb.  BUT, as our communities become more international the market for lamb is strong and growing!  I'm especially fond of lamb chops!  

Sheep can also provide abundant wool.  This wool can be fashioned into clothing and makes especially nice hats and scarves.  Wool is labor intensive- requiring sheering, washing, dyeing, combing, and spinning.  Specials equipment is needed to sheer and make yarn from wool.  That's a whole other topic.  

   Sheep also make delicious cheese.  

The milk from sheep is thick, fatty, and sweet.  It really coats your mouth and throat going down!  Most Americans prefer cow's milk.  Sheep milk is, however, excellent for making cheese.  Sheep cheese pairs well with wine, and many claim it enhances the flavor of wine.  Making cheese commercially (to sell ) requires expensive equipment and is highly regulated.  It is possible to make cheese at home for personal use, but cannot be sold without state licensure.  


Maintaining a flock of sheep is hard, dirty, smelly, and sweaty work!  Sheering (only required for wool breeds) requires up close contact and a lot of bending over.  The sheep will resist, making the process difficult.  Sheep also require quarterly worming (best) or at least biannual worming.  Worming sheep requires more wrestling, and the sheep will often spit the medicine straight in your face.  We found a great tool that has a long applicator that literally goes down a sheep's throat preventing spit ups.  Sheep also require biannual hoop trimming and treatment to prevent hoof problems- more wresting and kicking- sheep really make this process especially hard!  They act like you're killing them!  


PREDATORS ARE A BIG ISSUSE WITH SHEEP

  Lambs, the cutest of God's creation, are easy prey for coyotes, wild dogs, and other predators (depending on your area).  Many farms use large bear sized dogs to guard the flock.  These dogs require special breeding and some training.  They are not your typical canine companions.  Other farms use donkeys and llamas to protect the flock.  The last two are good choices because they eat the same food as sheep and are easier to maintain than dogs.  Not all donkeys or llamas are good guardians- but when you find one they are a valuable defender!  We used a llama that I became very fond of- it was a sad day when our llama died.  I cried like I lost my best friend.  


Lambing can also be difficult.  I've had to reach in and turn and pull lambs.  Messy bloody work!  Lambs never seem to arrive at normal hours either!  But, a healthy cute baby lamb makes up for any inconvenience.  Lambs are very special to me.  Raising lambs has helped me understand the Bible better in many ways.  Shepherding is a common topic in Scriptures.  Jesus is describes as a lamb.  


So- there you have it!  This is my 'short' sheep primer.  Sheep are, in my opinion, the most difficult farm animal- BUT they definitely have great rewards and benefits!

Sort:  

Nice article. You are so right about treating the ram like a bull. I have not raised sheep myself, but have helped friends, and those rams can get you when you least expect it. The same goes for goats.

I would also suggest, that anyone who is getting a guard llama get one when they are young. They can get very mean if not handled at an early age.

Great article, a lot of people think they will just start a homestead and get some animals and everything will be great. The truth is precisely what you stated in the article. It’s hard, dirty work.

Thanks for the well-thought article.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66439.14
ETH 3005.38
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.68