Strawberries

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

20180514_172527.jpg

Strawberries are one of the easiest fruits to grow. The do take a little maintenance but no more than any other flower bed arrangement. This variety of strawberry plant is the Ozark Beauty strawberry. It's a cold hardy, ever-bearing variety. There available at most online nursery sites like Stark Bro's. These berries are great for anything I've tried from jam/jelly to pies, cake, wine and don't forget the strawberry margaritas.

Having a cold hardy variety of strawberries is essential in central Indiana. Although we don't have extended periods of extremely cold weather, we do have nights during the winter that can reach from -10°F to -15°F. The ever-bearing part of the description means that after an initial production of strawberries in the early summer the plants continue to produce strawberries until frost (and sometimes after that). The initial production of strawberries can be quiet heavy. It's not uncommon for us to pick a half gallon of berries a day for this two to three week period. After that fewer are produced but there is normally plenty for bowls of cereal throughout the summer.

Having the strawberries in a raised bed helps with two things. Strawberries prefer well drained soil, raising the bed assures adequate drainage. The other thing the bed takes care of is containing the strawberries. Strawberries reproduce by forming runners where new plants start. After the first new plant starts forming on the runner, the runner may continue and start a second or third new plant. Left unchecked, this 4 feet wide bed would easily double in width over a summer if it were on the ground.

The strawberry plants are so aggressive at reproducing they need to be thinned out on a regular basis. I try to take care of this every spring. This is the bed after I removed at least 80% of the plants and added some fresh soil. When thinning a strawberry bed like this, thinning too many out will take care of itself very quickly as the remaining plants grow.

When I was building this bed, I had finished the outside walls when my wife came out to look at it. With a curious look on her face she asked if I was going to fill it with dirt. I carefully explained to her that the walls were simply to contain the runners so they didn't spread throughout the yard, that she would have to reach down to pick the strawberries. She simply nodded her head and went to a different topic of conversation. An hour or so later she asked "Are you really not going to fill the strawberry bed with dirt?". After a good laugh, I assured her it would be filled, alleviating her concern of having to reach all the way down to the bottom of the bed to pick strawberries. My wife is a very intelligent lady, very book smart. Unfortunately, common sense is rarely ever written in a book.

Sort:  

they grow like weeds, my patch started with 10 plants 3 years ago and now i have a couple hundred in the space and their spreading into my lawn lol, boted and followed

They do spread like weeds. If you want something worse, grow cilantro.

haha i actually planted 24 plants of cilantro the other day, i hope they do spread like weeds, i sell on the farmers market

If your patient enough you can gather the seeds to sell coriander. If you can beat the birds to them.

Be sure to get to them before the ants. They know when they are ready.

We don't have as much problems with ants as we do with birds. Every year the subject of a BB gun comes up to fix that problem.

I feel ya on the birds, they go after my blueberries. And the squirrels go after my peaches.

I can't grow corn because of the squirrels, anything similar to cabbage and the rabbits go crazy. Birds in the strawberries. I would be better off in the country I think rather than in the suburbs.

I feel your pain, the squirrels need to be shot or trapped. When they see their friends die they stay out of your yard. But like you stated living in the suburbs shooting at squirrels is frowned upon.

I think we have stupid squirrels. We have 4 dogs and occasionally they will catch one resulting to it's demise. Still, they come in the back yard gambling the dogs won't be around.

Funny story, Mike. Reminds me of one I still tell today..30+ years after it happened...(it is plant/berry related too):

When we visited the Ocean Spray cranberry plant on Cape Cod, MA, the tour guide explained how that when it comes time to pick the cranberries they will completely flood the fields..

I kid you not, my wife asked, "Do the workers have to wear scuba gear to get the berries?"

She hasn't lived that one down yet.

Great story. Tell her the water is shallow enough that snorkeling takes care of it.

LOL....very good. I will, the next time it comes up...lol...

Which one of you makes the strawberry jam and may I have a jar please?

Maybe your wife was concerned that YOU didn't realize you needed to fill it????

I make most of the jam but have tried to teach my wife how to do it. I think she has made one batch under my close supervision. Neither of us eat very much jam and do end up giving most of it away as gifts to family and friends, come on by and pick up a jar.

And don't get me started on the crazy questions my wife has asked.

Will let you know next time I head home to Ohio. Should be able to detour for strawberry jam.

Not too long ago I paid $6 for a jar of homemade applebutter. You could always have a little booth and sell strawberry lemonade and jam! Lol.

fantastic idea for to grow strawberries

Nice! I just did a strawberry post myself. I grow them in a raised pyramid. I talked about how well they came back after weed whacking them last year.

They're pretty resilient plants. Unless you pull them out by the roots, there's not much you can't do to them that time won't fix.

Yeah I probably put too much work into them with all the fertilizer and compost I give them. The ones that spread into my surrounding wood chips seem to be doing just as good.

Yep, just relax. Maybe have a few strawberries.

World of Photography
>Visit the website<

You have earned 6.50 XP for sharing your photo!

Daily Stats
Daily photos: 1/2
Daily comments: 0/5
Multiplier: 1.30
Block time: 2018-05-16T13:18:39
Account Level: 1
Total XP: 196.75/200.00
Total Photos: 34
Total comments: 4
Total contest wins: 0
And have also received a 0.09 percent upvote.

Follow: @photocontests
Join the Discord channel: click!
Play and win SBD: @fairlotto
Daily Steem Statistics: @dailysteemreport
Learn how to program Steem-Python applications: @steempytutorials
Developed and sponsored by: @juliank

This post has received a 1.18 % upvote from @booster thanks to: @mikehamm.

@therealwolf 's created platform smartsteem scammed my post this morning (mothersday) that was supposed to be for an Abused Childrens Charity. Dude literally stole from abused children that don't have mothers ... on mothersday.

https://steemit.com/steemit/@prometheusrisen/beware-of-smartsteem-scam

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.30
TRX 0.11
JST 0.033
BTC 64223.84
ETH 3158.34
USDT 1.00
SBD 4.29