Edible Landscaping Update

The plants are in! They have actually been in the ground for a while now. We’ve had a crazy couple of months and it just keeps getting crazier. This is one of my favorite goals for 2018 is our edible landscaping. I think I love it so much because anyone who owns their house can do this.

IMG_6251.JPG

We received our 2 dwarf banana, 2 pineapple, 2 goji berry and 2 raspberry plants in April?????? I was a little concerned about live plants being shipped in the mail. I shouldn’t have worried. They were very healthy upon arrival and packaged well. My only complaint is that the package was small enough to fit in the mailbox so I didn’t realize they had arrived until the next day. Since it gets so hot here I would have preferred to get them planted straight away. Or at least out of the hot mailbox. Shout out to Baker Creek for healthy plants but maybe in the future a label indicating they should be left at the front door and not in a mailbox? Something to consider.

IMG_6256.JPG
This goji berry plant is the cutest little plant I've ever see

We had already prepped the flower beds with rabbit manure so all we had to do was decide exactly where we wanted to place them. This is not our forever home so I want to be sure that the landscaping is both edible and pleasing to the eye. I decided to frame the doorway with the pineapples, the ends of the porch with the goji berry and the banana plants were placed between the windows on either side.

33872687_10209488269323540_1524342966330589184_n.jpg

There was a slight hiccup with our plan though….. We did not account for the ducks and they miiiiight have eaten some plants. Okay not might, they definitely did munch on some of the landscaping. Luckily they didn’t kill the plants and since then I have constructed little cages out of chicken wire. These have done a great job of protecting the plants from those hungry hungry ducks. Now that the plants are bigger the cages aren’t sufficient and I will have to either make wider cages or fence in the entrance to the house. I’m not entirely sure which yet.

33992898_10209488269763551_873273263386525696_n.jpg

After a couple of months with these plants I think I’ve come to the conclusion that we will need a couple more banana and pineapple plants. These larger plants will help balance out the smaller ones I plan to plant in the future. Plus banana and pineapple are two out of only three fruits my husband will willingly eat. All in all I’m excited about the progress we have made on this goal. At the very least I wanted to plant the trees and bushes. Since we decided to plant the blackberries, blueberries, raspberries and loganberries elsewhere, the only plants we skipped were the elderberry trees which we can’t plant until we have an established tree removed. I’m not ready to call this goal complete but I’m happy with our progress so far.

Check Out Our Recent and Related Articles:

Homesteading Goals 2018
2018 Homesteading Goal #4 Update

You Can Follow Us On:
Facebook
Pinterest
Youtube
Instagram

DQmVqcRwTgh8SPRAAvw4XFqdJFQjv9gjkKbQwjHgMcUih8S_1680x8400.png

Sort:  

I have often wondered and was concerned about receiving plants like that in the mail too but yours look to be doing wonderful!

I have a few Goji seeds myself to sow one day. I just need to find the perfect location for them.

I only wish they had been left at the door but they are doing well regardless. Everything has grown well except the pineapple. I don't think they have gotten much bigger. You should get some nursery pots and plant them now! You can always transfer from the pot when they get too big!

I was surprised they held up that well being sent in the mail. I had some berry bushes and grapes planted but they did not work out, so I will find a different spot and try again next year. A good thing is I think I found some wild blackberries on our property.

I was surprised as well! They shipped quickly though so that might have had something to do with it. Oh no I'm sorry they didn't work out! We also have some wild black berries but we don't eat them because they are close to the road. I'm hoping to get the rest of the berry plants either this fall or next spring but I gotta find a place to put them

I didn't realize until now that you can ship small plants. Which website did you get them from?

Baker Creek Heirloom Seeds

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 60895.62
ETH 2917.92
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.58