You are viewing a single comment's thread from:

RE: The Story of Milk: Raw vs Processed

in #homesteading6 years ago (edited)

Here is my experience with milk.

My cardiologist told me to stop drinking and eating dairy because it causes inflammation all over your body. So I cut out dairy.

A couple years later I noticed I needed to up my protein intake since I was trying to reduce the last masses of fat I had left while maintaining the muscle I gained. So once in a while I would buy myself a protein drink. After two weeks of taking a protein drink on and off, I started having prostate issues.

I tried to pinpoint the cause and I suspected the milk in the protein drinks. So I stopped. After I stopped the inflammation in my prostate went down. Which reminds me that in my late teens and early twenties I use to have prostate issues all the time, and at the time I was drinking a lot of milk since it was before the cardiologist told me stop drinking dairy.

Will raw milk have a different effect? I have no idea. But I try to get my protein from chicken, beef, fish, and plants and nuts for now.

Sort:  

Thank you for sharing your story!

I have to wonder how much of the inflammation issue comes from all the processing the milk goes through. Years back, milk also had a lot of growth hormones included which can't be very healthy to ingest. I suspect that if we were drinking raw milk all this time we wouldn't have these dairy issues.

@ironshield

I think modern milk still has all the hormones, IGF-1/2, dehydroandrostenedione, and estradiols.

Supposedly the insulin growth like factors are broken down in the digestive tract, but some people claim that things like colostrum gave them acromegaly, and they regret eating the colostrum.

Raw milk still contains all the enzymes and nutrients to digest the milk properly. There's a HUGE difference between pasturized milk and raw milk.

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.24
TRX 0.11
JST 0.029
BTC 69379.42
ETH 3686.72
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.29