Dusting off my Steemit account!!

in #homesteading4 years ago (edited)

IMG_1118.jpg

Just checking in to see who is still around among the homesteading and Veterans' communities, and maybe turning over a new leaf to get back into blogging this year :) Though that's easy to say in January when the garden isn't growing, the holidays are over, and life has calmed down slightly!

Life has been good and BUSY here at Mountain Meadow. My chickens have increased to a baker's dozen consisting of Americaunas, buff orpingtons, white Leghorns (they're my favorite...such noisy characters!), and a sprinkling of one each of a barred rock, black Australorp, and golden wyandotte. So we get a rainbow of white, brown, and green eggs!

Our garden was very sad last year due to heavy prolonged spring rains and then a prolonged autumn drought. The only things that grew decently were the potatoes, Amish paste tomatoes (though ravaged by hornworms), and corn (almost totally ravaged by a wily raccoon that we have yet to trap in 3 years of corn destruction, despite my husband's best efforts).

Myself, Pixie, and Little Man have made quite a bit of progress in horseback riding throughout this past year and Pixie has become a pretty good little Peewee barrel racer. She took 4th place at the state fair for pole bending! In November we bought a quarter horse for myself and for Christmas we bought Pixie the gaited horse that has been her lesson horse all year. Needless to say, she is on cloud nine!! For now we are keeping them at the place where we take lessons.

We also began homeschooling the kiddos (kindergarten), using an online curriculum, and they LOVE it. They'll ask to homeschool even on the weekend. No regrets whatsoever so far!

The pic above is from a little horse show we attended in the summer. That horse isn't one of ours ;)

I'm interested to poke around and see what's going on around Steemit these days....how has everyone else been doing?

Sort:  

Still here, still good. Good to see you again

Posted using Partiko Android

Thank you! And happy belated New Year!

Still here, die hard. Do check in.. we miss you.

That's a nice flock. I have barred rocks, copper marans, one pullet leghorn, a pullet rooster I THINK is an australorp, and some other brown marans. Xx

I still miss having a horse!

Happy New Year.

Happy New Year to you too! I just looked up the marans and the black copper ones are so pretty. One of my Americaunas looks quite a bit like them!

Yo, still here... playing around with a bunch of dapps, That's awesome about the horses. Taking care of a large animal like that teaches a lot of responsibility. Sounds like a lot of fun too. All the best this Nee Year.

Thanks! That's exactly why we wanted to get the kids into the horse world :)

I'm sorry I missed this post earlier. Been trying to get fired up again since the holidays. Stoked to hear homeschooling is going so well, especially as we've gotten this home education support group up and running.

I hope you don't stay away again for too long. Things have certainly been improving here curation wise.

Congratulations @mtnmeadowmomma! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You distributed more than 10000 upvotes. Your next target is to reach 11000 upvotes.

You can view your badges on your Steem Board and compare to others on the Steem Ranking
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Do not miss the last post from @steemitboard:

SteemitBoard Ranking update - A better rich list comparator
Vote for @Steemitboard as a witness to get one more award and increased upvotes!

I’m so sorry I missed this post too! You are truly missed around here. I think of you from time to time wondering how you, your family and homestead are doing. I knew you were busy. Are you still sewing and quilting?

I’m still here strong and the @needleworkmonday community has gotten so much more support lately. Curation around has certainly improved much. I’m hanging in there homeschooling 4 of our 5.

I’m so excited to here you started homeschooling and that it’s going well. It makes it even sweeter when they are excited about it too. I hope you’re able to find time to blog again ~

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.29
TRX 0.12
JST 0.033
BTC 62996.10
ETH 3122.17
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.88