Surviving in Place with Less Water

in #homesteading5 years ago

It's been a while since I have written any post. I have been travelling a lot. And I have been to some of the places where there is a less water and less food to eat. And it was due to me trying to meet some of the people in my life who decided to live away from the city life.

A lot of times I realized that having ranch outside in the deserted areas means that you are going to live without water and the food. I was used to the frozen food and the food that grown in some green regions. But we don't always end up in same safe environment all the time.

So I learned a lot of things while leaving in the place with less water.

  1. Water storage is valuable in such areas.
  2. Make sure you have water storage in and out of your house. Make sure you have drinkable water inside the house.
  3. Water for bathroom and toilet should be outside the house.
  4. Make sure your water source is not open as it adds lot of dust and also some of the insects and animals get into such storage.
  5. Make sure to have some sort of tank outside and also make sure to have it near the tree or some place in order to avoid getting it into sunlight.

This is what I have learned about water storage while leaving in waterless places. Another thing that you may notice is the food. You may find that such places don't have food forest or fruits type of the forest. So you are left with the odd trees and the desert specific vegs which can be not always eatable.

  1. Have pickles and the sauce stored.
  2. Make sure to have lot of canned food stored for summer and the rainy season.
  3. Winters are not strong in such areas and you can go out. But still have some pantry to store food for these days.

So I decided to read Desert Survival Skills book and plan for next time I visit there. And may consider learning more of the skills so that next time I get into this type of the situation. I think it's not easy to prepare for this type of the situation but you know you can always start by reading the experience of others. So that's pretty much it for my experience.

I hope you like some of these ideas. Do let me know in the comments if you like some of them.

Rydhi
xox

Sort:  

It's amazing all the things you can learn when you are fully submersed in an area!

We invite you to use the community tag #innerblocks, and join us on the best Self Reliant Dapp on the blockchain

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.27
TRX 0.13
JST 0.032
BTC 61383.17
ETH 2915.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.61