Why Homesteading? My Hopes and How They've Changed

It's common among Homesteaders to be asked what got you started with this lifestyle. There's as many answers as there are homesteaders.

For me, it all started when I learned what my mortgage payment was going to be after we closed on our home. My first thought was to make it help pay for itself by giving me groceries. $1,500 a month is a lot of money, and I started gathering seeds before we even bought the place.

As I've gone down this path, the reasons have changed a bit.

I still embrace the frugal aspects, but I've learned so much the last year that has embedded me deeper into this lifestyle.

RebellionitsNotWhatYouThinkBitcoinPeacefulParentingBarterandAgorism 1.jpg

  1. Rebellion. I am breaking from a system that isn't right. A system where eggs aren't eggs. Where milk isn't milk. A system that makes wholesome foods toxic and that supports chronic disease. A system that is supported by people that are leading nations down paths of deadly illness and fiscal irresponsibility. I am voting to overthrow that system in the only way that makes sense: with my money.
  2. Sustainability. What if people around the world grew more of their own food? What would happen to international conglomerates if we supported ourselves? These systems are made to fuel war. Before WWII, backyard gardens produced 40% of the vegetables in the US. At the abrupt end of WWII, the arms companies needed something to do with all their leftovers, and modern chemical fertilizers were born. And the things we used to kill Nazis were turned to kill our soil.
  3. Health. Aside from the money you'll save by growing your own organic food, that food can help you live a more healthy life. The healing benefits of fresh, pure food are numerous. From autism to renal failure. COPD to IBS. Even our recent trendy maladies like celiac and ADHD can be helped with a wholesome, nutrient dense, home grown diet.
  4. Medicine. The world of @naturalmedicine is at least as vast as the world of permaculture. What if everyone started growing their own heart medication or antidepressants instead of spending $150 a month on a copay and $700 a month on insurance? What if we grew our own medicines to help our bodies detox the bleach from the water they pipe into our homes? How much better would the collective life of society be if we were using seeds and soil to heal ourselves? The more I learn, the more I believe that there is NOTHING that can't be cured in a natural way.

These are just a few things that I've learned. Side benefits, if you will. Not things that I had ever dreamed of when I bought that first pack of okra seeds and tilled my first bed a little under a year ago.

Not only is it well within our collective power to save a few bucks on groceries, but it is equally possible and equallysimple to heal our bodies and nonviolently free ourselves from these systems that have become so detrimental to our society. It's a way for us to reclaim control from the systems that place profit above people and work towards our system that puts more emphasis on people and benefit above profits.

I think we're wearing a tipping point. A time when people are waking up and realizing their power when they join with natural processes. I'm incredibly hopeful for the near future and I hope you are too. I hope and pray that these words can reach someone that needs them. Someone that's questioning this system or lost and feeling powerless.

Plant some seeds, friend. Be encouraged. Be powerful.

Be blessed.
Be fruitful.
Stay relevant.

Nate.


cooplogowebsite.png
Purchase sustainably produced seeds, textiles, medicines, and more for SBD from @homesteaderscoop at The Homesteader's Co-op Online Marketplace!

C3TZR1g81UNaPs7vzNXHueW5ZM76DSHWEY7onmfLxcK2iPUNtMaZahB7oRoHdj6MJLjv8qH3AC8YhazjBxUjdbMw38yfKNg13WeaaBUk3BEt4xeUb8SyHVY.png
Follow @naturalmedicine and join the Natural Medicine discord channel today and come grow and learn with us!


Join us on the GHSC Discord and follow @ghscollective to become part of a global network of homesteaders!

Sort:  

You are absolutely right. We have to learn to be responsible for ourselves. The current system is breaking down, because it destroys us in any way. To grow your own plants is the only way.

Part if me wonders: what happens when they outlaw food gardens or home food preservation?

Eventually these systems sense and seek to restrict any threats.

When that happens, we become Outlaws.

I will NOT allow anyone to tell me that I can't grow my own food or defend myself.

When that happens I will resist, I will fight to the death if needed. I don't really see any other option.

a. You become a completely dependent Slave.
or
b. You fight for your Life and Liberty.

People have been fighting this battle forever and sometimes they die for it. I'd rather not die but being a complete Slave (we are all currently slaves to some degree, I also have a mortgage) is not really an option for me because...

I Own Myself!

All very good reasons!

I've wanted to set up a homestead for years but here in the UK I've concluded I can acheieve all of those mutual aims by just buying a small town house and ethically trading for the rest!

Said smalll town house cost £170K... a stead with a wreck/ self build project would cost at least £250K (in a shit area on a main road)... which means my mortgage (I have quite a small one) is £600 month rather than £900!

I'm actually now thinking of renting out said house and finding some collective permie project to go help out on... somewhere warm!

Also, do you think you can rebel with a mortgage? It's not exactly a word whixh brings "born to be wild' to mind, more 'wild hogs'!

My number one finance goal atm is to save enough to pay mine off. At 1.99% interest it doesn't make sense to actually pay it off yet but id like the capacity to be able to do so!

Posted using Partiko Android

Yeah, the mortgage is a bummer to say the least lol Rebel with a cause... And a mortgage. 😂

BUT, I'm busting my ass to pay it off early. Wife and I are getting out of debt and are on track to pay off everything except the mortgage and student loans by the end of this year. That'll free up an extra $1000 a month (!!!!!!) that'll go towards principal payments on the mortgage. A very oversimplified version of my dream is to pay off everything and have a badass garden and retire, selling extra produce to pay for any taxes that they'd shoot me for not paying.

Great idea using a farmers market. And as far as finding permies to help, you might check in with @makinstuff for the website I heard him talk about with @sagescrub. It was exactly what you're talking about.

That's basically what i did when I first took out a mortgage about 6 years ago - put it on a 15 year term, and it's working out nicely!

I do fancy a garden but it's just something I've had to compromise on temporarily. I'm into growing my blog atm, it's still growing something!

I'll check out those links, cheers!

Rebellion! We are the resistance! Self reliance is the past and the future! Be well.

Congratulations @nateonsteemit! You have completed the following achievement on the Steem blockchain and have been rewarded with new badge(s) :

You got more than 4000 replies. Your next target is to reach 4250 replies.

Click here to view your Board
If you no longer want to receive notifications, reply to this comment with the word STOP

Support SteemitBoard's project! Vote for its witness and get one more award!

I think you some it up wonderfully. They are the exact reasons I grow food and avoid systems that strangle us. Xx

Posted using Partiko Android

We can strangle them this way. Lol sounds like a book title; The Violent Gardener.

Well said @nateonsteemit. You summed up some really important points and problems that can be solved in the garden and in the farmer's market. I love your cynacism, especially because you have a simple, wholesome solution.

I spent years stressing over the complicated unwholesome solution and being way more angry when no progress was ever made. This is better and easier and actually makes constant progress.


This post was shared in the Curation Collective Discord community for curators, and upvoted and resteemed by the @c-squared community account after manual review.
@c-squared runs a community witness. Please consider using one of your witness votes on us here
Thanks for being a continued advocate of natural medicines on the blockchain! Love your post so much that we’ve also resteemed it.
We welcome new members in our Discord channel, so if you’re reading this and think you’d like to know more about Natural Medicine, please join us here

Here's to grow more of your own food and medicine!

Coin Marketplace

STEEM 0.28
TRX 0.12
JST 0.032
BTC 66167.71
ETH 3014.78
USDT 1.00
SBD 3.73